Cronkite School recognized for commitment to diversity, inclusion

August 2, 2012

The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication received the inaugural Institutional Inclusion Award from Arizona State University in recognition of its efforts to advance diversity and inclusion at the institutional level.

ASU’s new College Award for Contributions to Institutional Inclusion was presented to Dean Christopher Callahan at the 2012 Faculty Excellence Awards ceremony. The award honors an ASU college whose efforts to promote diversity and inclusion align with ASU’s diversity plan and reflect the value the university places on inclusion. Download Full Image

The award includes a $5,000 grant to fund a visit to the school from a renowned diversity scholar as part of the university’s Diversity Scholar Series, an initiative established in 2004 by the Office of Institutional Inclusion to promote discussion of diversity issues.

In presenting the award, ASU Executive Vice President and Provost Elizabeth D. Capaldi praised the Cronkite School’s “remarkable commitment” to inclusion, citing the school’s development of a specialization focused on reporting in Latino communities, its establishment of the first student chapter of the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association and its outreach to minority high school and undergraduate students as well as its support of innovative faculty projects that explore diversity issues. Capaldi also noted that the school’s minority enrollment has increased in recent years.

"We're honored to receive the university's first college inclusion award," Callahan said. "It's a testament to the importance of news media diversity to our talented faculty, dedicated staff and passionate students."

The announcement comes as a group of Cronkite students, faculty and staff represents the school at this year’s UNITY Convention, a gathering of journalists of color; lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender journalists; and media professionals and journalism educators interested in issues of diversity and inclusion in the news media.

Reporter , ASU News


College of Law clinic chosen to participate in US patent, trademark pilot programs

August 2, 2012

The College of Law has been selected to participate in two pilot programs of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) which will allow law students to represent clients, under faculty supervision, on issues related to their applications before the USPTO.

The Lisa Foundation Patent Law Clinic at the College of Law has been accepted into the USPTO’s Patent Law School Clinic Certification Pilot Program and its Trademark Law School Clinic Certification Pilot Program. Download Full Image

David J. Kappos, Director of the USPTO and Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property, said the College of Law and 10 other law schools were selected for the patent pilot because of their exemplary intellectual property curricula, effective outreach to inventor communities and comprehensive client services.

Regarding the trademark pilot, the USPTO cited the schools’ support of students’ hands-on learning, their commitment to networking in the community, comprehensive pro bono services and excellent case management system.

Michelle Gross, director of the Lisa Foundation Patent Law Clinic and an adjunct clinical professor at the College of Law, said its acceptance into the programs is a significant step in giving students valuable practical experience as temporarily registered practitioners and increasing their marketability upon graduation.

“The special provisions of these programs that provide for expedited examination of applications submitted will greatly enhance their educational experience because, in a single semester, students will not only be able to submit an application, but also experience multiple interactions with the USPTO,” said Gross, a 2009 alumna of the College of Law. “Normally, this process spans several years.”

The other schools are Case Western Reserve University School of Law, University of Colorado Law School, Fordham University School of Law, University of Maryland Francis Carey School of Law, North Carolina Central University School of Law, University of Notre Dame Law School, University of Puerto Rico Law School, Thomas Jefferson School of Law, University of Washington School of Law, and Wayne State University Law School.