Skip to main content

Cronkite school hosts Reynolds institute for high school teachers

June 14, 2011

Thirty-five high school journalism teachers from around the country will grow their skills at Arizona State University this summer in a training program funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and operated by the American Society of News Editors.

In its fifth year at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, the two-week institute immerses teachers in specialized skills such as writing, editing, reporting, multimedia, layout and photojournalism, and is also providing grounding in professional ethics, the First Amendment and scholastic press freedom.

Participants, many from under-represented high schools, are supplied with housing, meals, continuing-education credit and instructional materials free of charge.

The boot-camp style workshop is taught by Steve Elliott, director of digital news for the Cronkite School’s professional reporting program Cronkite News Service.

"Many high school journalism teachers come into the job with little experience, and training other than lessons learned on the job is tough to come by,” Elliott said. “This institute helps teachers build their journalism skills and bolster their understanding of the news media's rights and responsibilities. That translates into more engaged and informed campuses back home."

The Reynolds High School Journalism Institute will take place in the Cronkite School’s state-of-the-art media complex in downtown Phoenix from June 12 to 24. The other Reynolds institutes will be held on the following campuses:

• University of Texas at Austin, June 19-July 1

• Kent State University, July 10-22

• University of Nevada, Reno, July 10-22

• University of Missouri, Columbia, July 17-29

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation is a national philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, it has committed over $100 million through its journalism initiative.

The American Society of News Editors is comprised of top editors at news organizations; deans, directors and endowed chairs at accredited journalism schools; and leaders of journalism foundations and training organizations.

The 2011 participating teachers at the Cronkite School are as follows:

• Janet Amezcua, Olympian High School, Chula Vista, Calif.

• Donald Anderson, Jewell School, Seaside, Ore.

• JoAnn Augustine, American Canyon High School, American Canyon, Calif.

• Steve Baker, DeSoto High School, DeSoto, Texas

• Patricia Baugher, Patterson Mill High School, Bel Air, Md.

• Rebecca Bennett, Bastrop High School, Bastrop, Texas

• John Bradford, Creekview High School, Canton, Ga.

• Lynsie Brenner, Guthrie High School, Guthrie, Okla.

• Angela Carter, Winfield High School, Winfield, Kan.

• Jennifer Chandler, North Harford High School, Pylesville, Md.

• Thomas Curran, Grace King High School, Metairie, La.

• Tina Davis, Ketchum High School, Ketchum, Okla.

• Elizabeth Dixon, West Lafayette Jr./Sr. High School, West Lafayette, Ind.

• Karla Erdman, Freedom High School, Bethlehem, Pa.

• Richard Franco, Globe High School, Globe,  Ariz.

• Bridget Freiler, Pottsville Area High School, Pottsville, Pa.

• Melinda Gilman, Blue Valley North High School, Overland Park, Kan.

• Sara Gonzales, Cypress Lakes High School, Katy, Texas

• Myrna Greenberg, Plantation High School, Plantation, Fla.

• Deborah Grund, Dr. Phillips High School, Orlando, Fla.

• Kathryn Gurganus, Keller High School, Keller, Texas

• Brian Heyman, Pattonville Senior High School, Maryland Heights, Mo.

• Lucinda Hogentogler, Central York High School, York, Pa.

• Jessica Korinek, R.L. Turner High School, Carrollton, Texas

• Amber Lineweaver, Clayton Valley High School, Concord, Calif.

• Gregg Long, Lake Park High School, Roselle, Ill.

• Elizabeth Marvin, Westside High School, Anderson, S.C.

• Angelique McClain, Dixie Hollins High School, St. Petersburg, Fla.

• Emily Miller, Arlington High School, Arlington, Texas

• Nicole Nianda, Currituck County High School, Barco, N.C.

• Traci Peugh, North Medford High School, Medford, Ore.

• Jeff Richards, Grand County High School, Moab, Utah

• David West, North Allegheny Senior High School, Wexford, Pa.

• Kerri Wosek, Traverse City West Senior High School, Traverse City, Mich.

• Jeremy Zona, Mesquite High School, Gilbert, Ariz.