Skip to main content

Construction industry group lauds ASU for student, faculty efforts

February 28, 2011

Arizona State University has been given an Excellent University Award from the American Concrete Institute (ACI) for student and faculty efforts to support the industry.

ASU met criteria for the award largely through achievements of faculty members and students in the Concrete Industry Management program in ASU’s Del E. Webb School of Construction, particularly activities by members of the ASU ACI student chapter.

ASU is one of only 12 schools to earn an ACI Excellent University Award. More than 60 other universities around the world with ACI student chapters were eligible for the award, as well as a number of other universities with faculty involved in ACI committees and research projects.

The construction school is part of the School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, one of ASU’s Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering.

The school’s Concrete Industry Management program is directed by associate professor James Ernzen.

For the award competition, universities were selected based on the number of ACI members in the student chapter, on students’ and faculty members’ participation in ACI competitions, committees, conventions and meetings, and participation in other concrete industry-related activities.

Universities were also judged on community outreach efforts by student and faculty involving neighborhood revitalization, construction projects and donated services.

The ACI noted the impressive achievements of the ASU student chapter in only five years since it was formed.

The chapter, which has more than 25 members, has established a working relationship with the Arizona ACI professional chapter. That partnership has helped provide construction professionals to teach courses or serve as guest speakers in classes, organize field tours, assist students in construction-related competitions, and provide funding for student scholarships and trips to national conferences.

ACI Excellent University Award winners will be formally announced at the institute’s national convention in Tampa, Fla., on April 3-7.