Skip to main content

ASU team wins international moot competition

February 21, 2013

The College of Law team won first place at the Sixth Annual Michael Thorsnes International Arbitration competition held at the University of San Diego, Feb. 17. The victory means the eight team members will compete in the Annual Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in March, four in Hong Kong and four in Vienna.

The team includes five third-year students: David Banko, Daniel Crane, Heather Fuerstman, Erin Hertzog, and Gayathiri Shanmuganatha; and three second-year students: Pamela  Cranston, Laura Kuhse and Jiarong “Rona” Lamiquiz. They compete in pairs.

Banko was named best oral advocate at the San Diego competition, earning the highest cumulative score. Fuerstman and Shanmuganatha were named best team.

The Phoenix office of DLA Piper provides funding and coaching support for the team. Mark Nadeau, a partner at Piper and adjunct professor, teaches International Commercial Arbitration and provides guidance to the team. Kate E. Frenzinger, an associate with Piper, coaches the team in oral advocacy, with the help of legal secretary Brandi Hobbs.