ASU Teachers College faculty present at educational research meeting

2015 American Educational Research Association (AERA) Annual Meeting

At the largest professional gathering of educators devoted to the scientific study of education, faculty from Arizona State University's Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College will be recognized for their outstanding work and leadership, at the 2015 American Educational Research Association Annual Meeting, April 16-20, in Chicago.

Additionally, nearly 55 Teachers College faculty, staff and doctoral students will be involved in over 110 sessions as invited speakers, presenting in paper and poster sessions, and participating in symposiums and roundtables under the conference’s theme: “Toward Justice: Culture, Language, and Heritage in Education Research and Praxis.”

A total of 123 people associated with ASU will be involved in 211 sessions at the conference, which features over 2,600 sessions and 14,000 attendees.

The honorees from the Teachers College include:

2015 AERA Fellows

Professor Carol Connor and professor Gustavo Fischman have been selected as American Educational Research Association (AERA) Fellows for their commitment to excellence in research and their significant contributions to the educational field.

“We are thrilled to honor these 23 scholars for their commitment to excellence in research and for their significant contributions to the field,” said Felice J. Levine, the association's executive director. “AERA Fellows emphasize to new scholars the importance of sustained research of excellence and exemplify the highest professional standards.”

Research to Practice Award

Professor Fischman also will receive the 2015 Research to Practice Award for increasing the understanding and proliferation of links between education research and enhanced education practice.

Leadership in Social Justice Teaching Award

Assistant professor Daniel Liou will be honored with the 2015 Leadership in Social Justice Teaching Award for exemplary teaching in P-20 educational leadership.

Review of Research Award

Associate professor Jeanne M. Powers is the 2015 recipient of the Review of Research Award for her March 2014 article “From Segregation to School Finance: The Legal Context for Language Rights in the United States,” published in Review of Research in Education.

Powers will be honored at an April 18 ceremony, along with the 11 other winners of AERA awards for excellence in education research. The other winners are available here.

A list of presentations at the American Educational Research Association is available at

Founded in 1916, the association advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good. More information about the group can be found at

Written by Michael Hegarty

Media contact: