Skip to main content

ASU students, Arizona PBS shine at Rocky Mountain Emmys

two women speaking sign language
October 21, 2014

Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication and Eight, Arizona PBS took home a combined 10 awards at the 2014 Rocky Mountain Emmys.

The winners were announced at an Oct. 18 ceremony at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess hosted by the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, an association representing television professionals in Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming and El Centro, California.

Cronkite students captured four Student Production Awards, including best newscast for the Deaf and Hearing Network, a news broadcast produced by ASU students and the deaf community in Phoenix that uses sign language, captions and spoken language.

Students Robby Baker and Nick Marek co-won the Talent category for their sports reporting reels. In Sports, Erin Patrick O’Connor, Adrian Borunda and Chris Smith won for a profile on two disabled athletes. Smith also captured the Student Production Award in arts and entertainment for a video highlighting student life on the ASU Downtown Phoenix campus.

“We are extremely proud of the tremendous accomplishments of our students,” said Christopher Callahan, Cronkite School dean. “To be recognized at the Rocky Mountain Emmys is a testament to the hard work of our outstanding students and faculty.”

Eight, Arizona PBS won six Rocky Mountain Emmys. “The Texas Tenors: You Should Dream,” featuring country crossover stars The Texas Tenors, took home three Emmys, including Arts/Entertainment – Program/Special, Audio-Live or Post Production and Craft Specialty Musical Composition/Arrangement.

Three-time Emmy winner and Eight’s popular local production “Check, Please! Arizona” won in the category of Interview/Discussion-Program/Special or Series. Eight, Arizona PBS also finished atop the Arts/Entertainment – Program Feature-Segment and Informational/Instructional categories.

“Emmy night is an important marker for how well we are delivering on our mission to produce the highest quality programming for our viewers – and I’m happy to say that this year, three of our Emmy-winning productions have made it out to national audiences,” said Kelly McCullough, Eight general manager. “We’re glad that audiences are enjoying our programs and are extremely pleased to be honored by the academy with these Emmy Awards.”

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of NATAS also recognized two ASU broadcasting veterans. Jim Dove, who recently retired as Cronkite’s chief broadcast engineer, received the Governors’ Award, the highest honor given at the Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards. Jeff Halberg, Arizona PBS production services manager was inducted into the Silver Circle, which honors accomplished individuals who have served in the industry for at least 25 years.

Student Production Award Recipients

Arts and Entertainment/Cultural Affairs
Chris Smith
Cronkite School Website
“ASU Downtown Life”

Peyton Gallovich and Dyan Sue Kovacs
Deaf and Hearing Network
Deaf and Hearing Network Newscast

Erin Patrick O’Connor, Adrian Borunda and Chris Smith
Cronkite TV Documentary Class
“Let’s Roll”

Robby Baker
Anchor Reel

Nick Marek
Sports Reel

Rocky Mountain Emmy Award Recipients

Arts/Entertainment – Program/Special
“The Texas Tenors: You Should Dream”
Scott Wallin, Marcus Collins, John Fisher, John Hagen, Jim Ward and Katie Cobb
Eight, Arizona PBS/KAET

Arts/Entertainment – Program Feature-Segment
“Tin Can Art”

Jennifer Burke
Eight, Arizona PBS/KAET

Audio-Live or Post Production
“The Texas Tenors: You Should Dream”
Michael Parnin and Marcus Collins
Eight, Arizona PBS/KAET

Craft Specialty Musical Composition/Arrangement
“The Texas Tenors: You Should Dream”
Nigel Wright, Stephen Kummer, Chris McDonald and John Hagen
Eight, Arizona PBS/KAET

“The Latest Procedure: Endovascular Leg Therapies”

Nancy Southgate, Chris Wooley, Wayne Dickmann, Miguel Montero-Baker, John Pacanowski and Luis Leon
Eight, Arizona PBS/KAET

Interview/Discussion-Program/Special or Series
“Check, Please! Arizona”

Kelly McCullough, Nancy Southgate, Scott Wallin, Suzanne Guery, Mark Harms and Robert McGrath
Eight, Arizona PBS/KAET