Skip to main content

ASU sponsors Clean Election debates for valley candidates

September 08, 2008
Arizona State University is teaming with the Citizens Clean Election Commission (CCEC) to sponsor candidate debates for General Election races in Districts 8, 10, 16, 17, 20, and 22.

District 8 — Sept. 22, Kerr Cultural Center, 6110 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale

State House Candidates: Michele Reagan (R), John Kavanagh (R) and Stephanie Rimmer (D)

District 10 — Sept. 17, ASU at the West campus, 4701 W. Thunderbird Rd., University Center Bldg, La Sala Ballroom, Glendale

State Senate Candidates: Linda Gray (R) and Martin Monroe (D)

State House Candidates: Rick Murphy (R), Debbie Lesko (R), Shawn Hutchinson (D) and Sheri VanHorsen (D)

District 16 — Sept. 15, The Mercado at the ASU Downtown Phoenix campus, 502 E. Monroe St., Room C-145, Phoenix

State Senate Candidates: Daniel Veres (R) and Leah Landrum (D)

State House Candidates: Cloves Campbell (D), Ben Miranda (D), Ray Williams (R) and Ronald Harders (R)

District 17 — Sept. 24, SkySong, N Scottsdale Rd and SkySong Way, Scottsdale

State Senate Candidates: Meg Burton-Cahill (D), Jesse Hernandez (R) and Teddy Eichenauer (Write-In)

State House Candidates: Ed Ableser (D), David Schapira (D), Mark Thompson (R), Wesley Waddle (R) and William Enzweilwer (Write-In)

District 20 — Sept. 26, ASU Research Park, ASML Training Center, 2010 E Centennial Circle, Tempe

State Senate Candidates: John Huppenthal (R) and Ted Maish (D)

State House Candidates: Jeff Dial (R), Frank Schmuck (R), Rae Waters (D) and Michael Williams (Write-In)

District 22 — Sept. 23, ASU at the Polytechnic campus, 7001 E. Williams Field Rd., Student Union, Cooley Ballroom, Mesa

State House Candidates: Andy Biggs (R), Laurin Hendrix (R) and Glen Ray (D)

All debates begin at 6:30 p.m. Doors open at 6 p.m. Parking is free.

The Citizens Clean Election Act is a campaign reform measure initiated by Arizona citizens and passed by voters in 1998. The Act created a new campaign financing system that provides full public funding to qualified candidates who agree to abide by CCEC guidelines.

For information on all ASU-sponsored debate sites visit our web site at For more information contact Van Ornelas at (480) 965-0100.

For information on the CCEC or to get a complete debate schedule, visit their web site at