Skip to main content

ASU law grads among 3 finalists for Arizona Supreme Court seat

August 21, 2012

Two alumni of the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University and a graduate of Stanford Law School are the finalists for a vacant seat on the Arizona Supreme Court.

The Arizona Commission on Appellate Court Appointments has nominated Ann A. Scott Timmer (Class of 1985), a judge on the Arizona Court of Appeals, and Maricopa County Superior Court Judge Douglas Rayes (Class of 1978). The other nominee, Arizona Court of Appeals Judge Diane Johnsen, is a graduate of Stanford Law School.

The position on the Arizona Supreme Court was vacated by Justice Andrew Hurwitz, who resigned in June upon his Senate confirmation to the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.

Gov. Jan Brewer will announce her appointment within 60 days.