Skip to main content

ASU golf's Tim Mickelson named Pac-12 Coach of the Year

Arizona State men's golf coach Tim Mickelson
May 01, 2015

Arizona State men's golf coach Tim Mickelson has been named the Pac-12 Men's Golf Coach of the Year, the conference announced May 1.

The Sun Devils had a strong show in voting, with juniors Jon Rahm and Max Rottluff earning first-team honors, and senior Broc Johnson getting honorable mention.

It marks the first Pac-12 Coach of the Year honor for Mickelson, the younger brother of ASU alum and PGA Tour pro Phil Mickelson. He joins elite company; former Sun Devil coaches Randy Lein (2000, 1999, 1996, 1995, 1993), Steve Loy (1990, 1989) and George Boutell (1981, 1979) also earned the honor.

Mickelson, in his fourth year as Sun Devils coach, has led the team to five tournament victories in 2014-2015, the most since the 1995-1996 team won six tournaments en route to ASU's second NCAA title. Both Rahm and Rottluff have been selected for Team Europe in the Palmer Cup this summer, while Rahm is a semifinalist for the Ben Hogan award.

Read the full story here.