Skip to main content

ASU broadcast engineer to receive prestigious Rocky Mountain Emmy

Jim Dove
October 17, 2014

After leading Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication to new technological heights, Jim Dove, who recently retired as the school’s chief broadcast engineer, will receive the highest honor given at the Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards.

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter will honor Dove with the Governors’ Award at the Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards, Oct. 18, at the Scottsdale Fairmont Princess.

In his 30-year career, Dove guided the Cronkite School on a path to technological excellence, from the early days at Stauffer Hall in Tempe to the new state-of-the-art building on the ASU Downtown Phoenix campus. He was instrumental in the design and installation of many of the new building’s complex digital features, making it one of the most technologically advanced educational journalism facilities in the nation.

In the classroom, Dove taught and mentored countless numbers of students, helping many launch their careers, including Derrick Hall, Diamondbacks president and CEO, and Bob Adlhoch, Phoenix Suns television executive producer. He ensured students had the very latest reporting and production tools through partnerships he forged with a wide range of technology companies.

“There are few people who have touched more Arizona broadcasters, journalists and communicators than Jim Dove,” said Christopher Callahan, Cronkite School dean. “I can’t think of anyone more deserving of the Governors’ Award. We’re going to miss Jim, but he will always be a part of the Cronkite School.”

Dove came to ASU in August 1984 as a production engineer for Eight, Arizona PBS, while also managing the Cronkite School’s television studio in Stauffer Hall. In 1994, he was named the Cronkite School’s first engineer.

At the school, he played a key role in the annual Cronkite Award Luncheon, where he produced powerful tribute videos for the recipients of the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism, including Andy Rooney, Brian Williams, Bob Costas and Diane Sawyer.

Dove developed a special friendship with Walter Cronkite through his regular visits to the school. Dove said he was grateful the late “CBS Evening News” anchor had the opportunity to break ground on the new building in 2007.

"The best memory of that period was Walter putting his blessing on the school and putting a shovel in the ground,” Dove said. “I’ll never forget standing there with him.”

Since 1986, Dove has also worked for ESPN, serving as a key member of its weekly NFL game and MLB production teams, including “Sunday Night Football” (1990-2005), “Monday Night Football” (since 2006) and “Sunday Night Baseball.” Dove, who will continue his job at ESPN, has received numerous awards for his work, including an Emmy in 1989 for ESPN’s auto racing program “SpeedWorld.” In 2000 and 2003, he was a member of an Emmy Award team for Outstanding Live Series on ESPN’s “Sunday Night Football.”

“I am grateful and honored to have called the Cronkite School home for nearly 30 years,” Dove said. “My goal was always to put our students first and to provide a positive and productive learning environment. Simply put, having fun teaching, mentoring and advising ambitious students was the fuel I needed to return to the classroom each day. The ultimate reward is the lasting friendships of today’s professionals, both in front of and behind the camera. It gives me great comfort to know that under Dean Callahan’s leadership, Walter Cronkite’s legacy will continue to grow as the gold standard in journalism education.”