Skip to main content

Alumni Association gives scholarships

February 09, 2009

Three students received tuition or book scholarships from the Alumni Association of the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at its annual luncheon on Tuesday, Feb. 3.

A tuition scholarship of $16,040 was awarded to 3L Julie Pasquale, an Articles Editor at Jurimetrics: The Journal of Law, Science, & Technology, a Public Interest Summer Fellow and president of the College's Advocacy Program Against Domestic Violence. The scholarship is based on academic success, contributions to the law school, the State Bar of Arizona and the community, and pro-bono activity and is  presented each year to a second- or third-year student.

The association board also awards two annual book scholarships in honor of Kevin M. Kane, a 1971 College of Law alumni and founding member of the Alumni Association. Kane, a president of the association for three years and a director for two decades, died of Hodgkin's lymphoma in 1999.

Marisol Diaz, a 3L who is Secretary of the Chicano/Latino Law Student Association and is involved in the Hispanic National Bar Foundation Inc.'s summer camp for high-school students, received a $200 book scholarship. A $250 book scholarship was awarded to 1L Tara Sheram, a Charles E. Jones Merit Scholar who is active in the Student Bar Association, Wills for Heroes and the Women Law Students' Association.

Janie Magruder,
(480) 727-9052
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law