Skip to main content

Alumni Association awards tuition, book scholarships

February 12, 2010

Three students received monetary support from the Alumni Association of the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at its annual luncheon on Monday, Feb. 8

A tuition scholarship of $18,950 was awarded to 3L Blair Moses, whose presence can be felt in nearly every corner of the law school. Moses, who worked in the healthcare industry and as a business consultant for 30 years before coming to law school in 2007, is Executive Editor of Jurimetrics: The Journal of Law, Science, and Technology, a Daniel Strouse Scholar, a Willard Pedrick Scholar, and a Law, Science, and Technology Center Scholar. She also is a member of the Sandra Day O'Connor American Inn of Court, a past-president of the Woman Law Students' Association, and former member of the WLSA Symposium and Silent Auction committees, and she takes notes for disabled law students.

"I am filled with such gratitude for being selected as the recipient of this wonderful scholarship," Moses said. "The scholarship is not only an honor, but also life-changing for me and my family. Our financial situation is unique from many law students in that I am a returning student after a lengthy career. We are at a time in our lives when most people are clearing debt rather than taking on law school debt. This scholarship will decrease my current loan amount and help free my family a portion of our significant debt. I thank the Alumni Association from the bottom of my heart for their generosity in supporting this scholarship."

The Alumni Association board also gave two book scholarships in honor of Kevin M. Kane (Class of 1971), a founding member of the association. Kane, an association president for three years and a director for two decades, died of Hodgkin's lymphoma in 1999.

A $200 award was made to Triumph Curiel, a third-year student, one of 13 children whose parents emigrated from Mexico. Curiel has an undergraduate degree from ASU, and a master's in health administration from the University of Phoenix. A $250 award was made to 1L John Skabelund, a former auditor with a public accounting firm and an entrepreneur. Skabelund has a degree in accounting and an Executive MBA from the W.P. Carey School of Business at ASU.

Janie Magruder,
(480) 727-9052
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law