As part of the event, four students were recognized for their achievements and commitment to service. Brandon Largaespada with Navy ROTC, Tina Sindwani with Air Force ROTC, Jonathan Wingerter with Army ROTC and Nicholas Coteus as the Tillman Student Veteran all received a Leadership Through Service Award of $1,000.

“The College is pleased to start our own tradition of recognizing students who exemplify what it means to serve,” said Paul LePore, associate dean for student and academic programs at The College. “All four of these students have proven to be role models to their peers, embodying their qualities of leadership through their service to others and the wider community.”

Cadet Battalion Cmdr. Jack Frus, a senior studying political science and civic and economic thought and leadership, received the Navy Federal Credit Union ROTC All-American Award, which honors the best and brightest ROTC seniors across the nation. Frus received a $6,500 scholarship.

Later, guests were able to browse photographs from the "Veteran Vision Project" by alumnus Devin Mitchell, who is committed to helping veterans heal and spread awareness about the challenges they face. The project captures the striking diversity of veterans and their unique experiences in uniform as well as their lives after service.

On Sunday, Nov. 6, The College geared up for its annual flag-football tournament, which honors U.S. service members while representing a source of pride for The College: being home to ASU’s ROTC programs.

Student veterans from the Pat Tillman Veterans Center and students from the Army, Air Force, Navy and Marine ROTC units competed to take home the coveted Dean’s Cup during a morning of competition, community and camaraderie.

The reigning champion Air Force ROTC cadets were defending their title, but the Army won the tournament, securing their first championship, and will have the honor of “owning” and proudly displaying the Dean’s Cup trophy until next year.

Allison Connell

Director, Marketing and Communications, The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences