Skip to main content

Broadway League elects ASU's Colleen Jennings-Roggensack as vice chair of the road

Portrait of ASU Vice President for cultural affairs and Executive Director of ASU Gammage Colleen Jennings-Roggensack.

Colleen Jennings-Roggensack

December 20, 2021

The Broadway League, the national trade association for the Broadway industry, added new members to its Board of Governors and elected ASU's Colleen Jennings-Roggensack as its new vice chair of the road.

At its annual meeting on Dec. 14, the membership added more than a dozen new members, including the arts and visionary leader Jennings-Roggensack. The Broadway League members include theater owners, operators, producers, presenters and general managers in North American cities, as well as suppliers of goods and services to the commercial theater industry. Each year, league members bring Broadway to more than 30 million people in New York and more than 200 cities across the U.S. and Canada.

"Thank you, all members of the Broadway League, for the hard work, dedication and truly working together to keep our theaters open, audiences engaged, creatives, actors, crews, admin teams all pulling together. I am honored to be the incoming vice chair of the board for our governors,” said Colleen Jennings-Roggensack, ASU vice president for cultural affairs and executive director of ASU Gammage.

Jennings-Roggensack has artistic, fiscal and administrative responsibility for the historic Frank Lloyd Wright-designed ASU Gammage and ASU Kerr Cultural Center, with responsibility for Sun Devil Stadium and Desert Financial Arena for non-athletic activities. She oversees the activation and transformation of Sun Devil Stadium into a year-round hub of cultural activity as ASU 365 Community Union. Jennings-Roggensack was also appointed by ASU President Michael Crow to co-lead the Advisory Council on African American Affairs.

She serves on the Broadway League's diversity and inclusion committee, government relations committee, labor committee, and co-chairs the legislative council and road presenters/intra-industry committees. Jennings-Roggensack is Arizona's only Tony voter and serves on the Black Theatre United Summit and the 7G Committee. She is a founding and current member of the Creative Capital Board, a senior adviser to Women of Color in the Arts, a former Association of Performing Arts Professionals board president, has served on the National Council on the Arts at the behest of President Clinton and is a life director of the Fiesta Bowl. 

The new board members include Arvind Ethan David, Tom Gabbard, Temah Higgins, Rich Jaffe, Khady Kamara, Susie Krajsa, Joey Parnes, Julio Peterson, David Richards, Christina Selby, Lia Vollack, Tammie Ward and Kumiko Yoshii. This brings the total number of board members to 56.

Each member will serve a two-year term and will be eligible for re-election in 2023.

In addition, Lauren Reid will remain chair of the board for the next two years, finishing her three-year term, and Elliot Greene, chief operating officer of the Shubert Organization, was reelected as secretary/treasurer.

More Arts, humanities and education


Man standing in a hallway smiling for the camera with his hands in his pockets.

Community-based history project expands to include stories of East Valley veterans

Thanks to Arizona State University Assistant Professor Rafael Martinez’s community-based history project, the full picture of the…

February 23, 2024
Portrait of ASU Regents Professor Jonathan Bate

Professor's expertise in Shakespeare leads to top faculty honor

 Jonathan Bate has played many parts — scholar of Shakespeare, author, professor, actor, director, playwright, critic, poet,…

February 22, 2024
Lineup of students playing snare drums outside

ASU shows high school students how they can stay connected to the arts

Nearly 200 high school students immersed themselves in the arts during Herberger Institute Day on Arizona State University's the…

February 22, 2024