Skip to main content

Wrestling's Ashmore selected for 2010 Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award

May 24, 2010

Ben Ashmore, a member of the Arizona State University wrestling team, has been named the recipient of the 2010 Pac-10 Conference Sportsmanship Award, the Conference announced today. Ashmore, who recently completed his first season with the Sun Devils, joined the Stanford women’s rowing team as this year’s honorees.

The Sportsmanship Award is selected by members of the Pac-10 Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and is based on good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in participation of intercollegiate athletics, as well as a demonstration of good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Conference award winners are then nominated for the NCAA Division I Sportsmanship Award.

A native of Dallas, Texas, Ashmore came to Tempe in time for the 2008-09 season after transferring away from Oklahoma State and worked hard in practice to make the starting line-up in 2009-10. An All-American candidate at 125 pounds heading into this past season, Ashmore voluntarily moved up to 133 pounds in order to keep teammate Anthony Robles in the starting position at 125 pounds where he was an All-American (fourth-place) and national semifinalist one year earlier. Wrestling up one weight class, Ashmore finished fourth at the Pac-10 Championships and earned the league’s final automatic qualifying spot at 133 pounds and advanced to his first NCAA Championships appearance, where he went 1-2 in the event.

Along with finding success on the mats, Ashmore has continued to work toward a degree in interdisciplinary studies while also remaining active in the community. During the past season, Ashmore attended several events with his teammates, including the Wilson Community Clean-up in central Phoenix and also participated in a walk for Autism. He also attends local high school wrestling meets and serves as a good role model for younger wrestlers.

Ashmore is the second Sun Devil to be selected for the award since it was created in 2004. That year, football player Grayling Love was the recipient.