Skip to main content

Women's track & field named USTFCCCA Academic Team of the Year

July 21, 2009

For the fifth time in the past three years, the Arizona State University women's track and field program has been selected as the U.S. Track & Field, Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Women's Track & Field Scholar Team of the Year as the Sun Devils were selected as the outdoor team honoree this season, the Association announced. The honors are selected based upon a combination of academic and athletic achievements with the top honor going to the team that had the combination of best overall finish at the respective Division I NCAA Championships and cumulative GPA.

With its honor in 2009, the Sun Devil women have been selected as the outdoor team of the year recipient in each of the last three seasons. ASU also was named the indoor honoree in both 2007 and 2008. This year, Tennessee was selected as the women's indoor recipient.

Outdoors, the Sun Devils placed third overall at the 2009 NCAA Championships to return to the Top 4 of the national standings for the seventh time in the past eight NCAA track and field events (indoor and outdoor included) after placing fifth indoors. The team, one of 130 nationally to earn academic recognition from the USTFCCCA this year, carried a combined grade-point average of 3.287 in 2009 and placed five of its individuals on the USTFCCCA All-Academic list, including Ali Kielty, Dominique' Maloy, Cj Navarro, Angela Spadafino and Sarah Stevens.

2009 USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams of the Year:

Women's Indoor - Tennessee
Women's Outdoor - ARIZONA STATE
Women's Outdoor - ARIZONA STATE
Men's Indoor - Nebraska
Men's Outdoor - South Carolina