Women's golf set to defend Pac-10 title

<p>The Arizona State women's golf team will look to defend the Pac-10 title this week as they head to Eugene, Ore., for the Pacific-10 Conference Championships. Held at the par-72, 6,203-yard Eugene Country Club, the tournament will run Monday, April 19 through Wednesday, April 21. The Sun Devils won their eighth Pac-10 title at the Stanford Golf Course by nine strokes over USC. Carlota Ciganda earned her first collegiate victory after winning a playoff against fellow Sun Devil Jennifer Osborn and USC's Jennifer Song.</p><separator></separator><p>Line-Up
<br />1. Jennifer Johnson
<br />2. Carlota Ciganda<br /> 3. Juliana Murcia
<br />4. Jaclyn Sweeney
<br />5. Giulia Molinaro</p><separator></separator><p><strong>About the Pac-10 Championships</strong><br />Known as one of the toughest conferences in collegiate golf, the Pac-10 has produced 13 NCAA Team Champions with seven of those coming from ASU. With eight conference titles, the Sun Devils have gathered more Pac-10 team titles than any other team in the Conference of Champions. The Sun Devils also have the most Pac-10 individual medalists with 10, which is more than twice as many as any other school. Head coach Melissa Luellen's squads have earned two conference titles. Live streaming from the tournament will be available on <a href="http://www.pac-10.org">www.pac-10.org</a>.</p><separator></separator><p… Conference </strong><br />The Pac-10 Championship features six of the nation's top 25 teams. UCLA is currently first in the Golfstat rankings with the Sun Devils just behind in second. USC stands at fifth with Arizona ranking seventh. Stanford and California are also in the top 25, coming in at 14th and 24th respectively.</p><separator></separator><p><strong>Last Year's Pac-10 Championships </strong><br />The Sun Devils won their eighth Pac-10 title after firing off an even 852 (293-281-278) to finish nine strokes ahead of USC. Then-freshman Ciganda shot par on the playoff hole to become ASU's 10th conference medalist. Jennifer Osborn finished second after the playoff, Azahara Munoz tied for fifth and Juliana Murcia finished 20th.</p><separator></separator><p><strong>ASU Pac-10 Championship History </strong><br />The Sun Devils have eight Pac-10 conference crowns, the most out of any Pac-10 school. The Sun Devils have won in 1987, 1988, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2007 and 2009. Ten times, an ASU player has earned conference medalist honors including Danielle Ammaccapane (1987), Pamela Wright (1988), Pearl Sinn (1989), Brandie Burton (1990), Wendy Ward (1993, 1995), Grace Park (1999), Jimin Kang (2002), Louise Stahle (2005) and Carlota Ciganda (2009).</p><separator></separator><p><strong>Next Up</strong><br /> The Sun Devils await for their NCAA Regional seeding. The sites of the 2010 NCAA Regionals include the Ironwood C.C. in Greenville, N.C. (hosted by East Carolina), the Stanford G.C. in Stanford, Calif. (hosted by Stanford) and the Otter Creek Golf Course in Bloomington, Ind. (hosted by Indiana).</p>