Skip to main content

Women's golf earns first seed at NCAA West Regional

April 27, 2009

The No. 1 Arizona State University women's golf team will play host for the NCAA West Regional at the Karsten Golf Course, May 7-9. The Sun Devils received a No. 1 seed after winning their eighth Pacific-10 Conference title. The regional tournaments are conducted as the preliminary round for the NCAA Championships held in Owing Mills, Md. From each regional, eight teams and two individuals will advance to the championship. With 17 consecutive trips to the NCAA Championships, the Sun Devils currently own the nation's longest current streak.

The Sun Devils will be joined by fellow Pac-10 teams: USC (No. 2 seed), Arizona (No. 7 seed), California (No. 8 seed) and Oregon (No. 14 seeds). Other teams coming to Tempe include No. 3 LSU, No. 4 Pepperdine, No. 5 Arkansas, No. 6 San Jose State, No. 9 UC Irvine, No. 10 San Francisco, No. 11 UNLV, No. 12 TCU, No. 13 Texas A&M, No. 15 Long Beach State, No. 16 Colorado, No. 17 Texas, No. 18 Baylor, No. 19 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, No. 20 Northern Arizona and No. 21 Oral Roberts. Individuals Miki Ueoka of Santa Clara and Chelsea Stelzmiller and Alice Kim of UC Davis also earned spots at the NCAA West Regional.

UCLA, Central Region, and Virginia, East Region, also earned No. 1 seeds.

The Sun Devils recently took first at the Pacific-10 Women's Golf Championships and have four tournament wins this past season. Currently ranked first in both the Golfweek/Sagarin and Golf World/NGCA polls, the Sun Devils won the NCAA Fall Preview, the Derby Invitational, the Northrop Grumman Regional Challenge and the Pac-10 Championships.

Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

1. Arizona State (Pacific-10 Conference)
2. Southern California
3. Louisiana State
4. Pepperdine
5. Arkansas
6. San Jose State (Western Athletic Conference)
7. Arizona
8. California
9. UC Irvine
10. San Francisco
11. UNLV
12. TCU
13. Texas A&M
14. Oregon
15. Long Beach State (Big West Conference)
16. Colorado
17. Texas
18. Baylor
19. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (Southland Conference)
20. Northern Arizona (Big Sky Conference)
21. Oral Roberts (The Summit League)

1. Miki Ueoka, Santa Clara
2. Chelsea Stelzmiller, UC Davis
3. Alice Kim, UC Da