Skip to main content

Two men's golfers selected to All-American event

November 15, 2009

Click here for the official tournament website

Junior Scott Pinckney and senior Knut Borsheim of the men's golf team have been selected to participate in the Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic at the end of November in El Paso, Texas. Hosted by the Sun Bowl Association, the three-day tournament will run from Nov. 22-24 at the par-71, 6,837 yard El Paso Country Club.

Pinckney and Borsheim each earned spots in the prestigious event after a strong start to the season. Competing against the some of the toughest competition in the country, Pinckney placed in the top-10 in all three tournaments the Sun Devils played in this season and Borsheim finished no lower than 24th.

This year's tournament features six Golfweek preseason first-team All-American selections, including the reigning NCAA Division I Player of the Year, Matt Hill of North Carolina State, and Freshman of the Year, Morgan Hoffmann of Oklahoma State. In all, 32 All-Americans from last season will compete in the event, the largest field in its 35-year history.

"We have another strong field," said Bob Kimble, tournament director. "We could not be more excited, this is a quality collection of the top amateur golfers in the world."

The Pac-10 Conference is tied with the Southeastern Conference for the most golfers invited with eight. Along with two Sun Devils, there are two from Washington, and one from Oregon, Arizona, USC and UCLA.

The Classic begins on Sunday, Nov. 22, with the Titleist Long Drive Contest at 9 a.m. (MST), followed by the PING Putting Contest at 10 a.m. (MST) The first and second rounds, both 18 holes each, begin at 8 a.m. (MST) on Monday, Nov. 23. The final round will start at 8 a.m. (MST) on Tuesday. Nov. 24, while the trophy presentation will be held directly following the conclusion of the event.

Billy Mayfair, who won the Classic as a sophomore in 1986, is the only Sun Devil to sit atop the leaderboard in the 35-year history of the event. Mayfair was twice selected to the First-Team All-American team in his four years in Tempe. The Phoenix native also medaled eight times, and earned Honorable Mention All-American honors in his freshman season and Second-Team All-American honors his sophomore year.

Past champions of the Classic include some of the top players on the PGA Tour, including Davis Love III (1984), David Duval (1991) and Tiger Woods (1995).

A $1,000 scholarship is awarded to every university that sends a golfer to the tournament.