Skip to main content

Track & field places 21 athletes on Academic Pac-10 lists

June 01, 2009

The Pac-10 Conference released its annual academic award winners for track and field and 21 members of the Arizona State University program were selected, the Conference announced. The Sun Devils placed 11 women and 10 men on the lists after each earned over a 3.0 grade-point average while representing the team this year.

ASU placed six athletes on the Pac-10 All-Academic First Team, including one woman and five men. Sarah Stevens was the lone first-team honoree for the women after earning honorable mention each of the last two years and a second-team honor as a redshirt freshman. Ben Engelhardt (second year in a row), Jeff Helwig (second year in a row), Justin Kremer (second year in a row), Jason Lewis (second year in a row) and Thomas Petersen (first career selection) all earned first team honors for the men.

Three women and one man earned second team accolades with Ryan Whiting earning a place on the second list for the third year in a row. Cj Navarro (first career selection), Lissa Regets (second year in a row), Angela Spadafino (second year in a row) and Maureen Stringham (first career honor) all were selected to the second team as well.

Chelsea Caloia (first career selection), Ali Kielty (third career honor), Dominique’ Maloy (first career honor), Lisa Nelson (second year in a row), Nicole Pennes (first career selection) and Erika Simington (second year in a row) all earned honorable mention honors for the women while the men’s list included Jeremy Egboro (third year in a row), Joey Heller (fourth year in a row), Kyle Hitchcock (first career honor) and David Mehlhorn (third year in a row and fourth career honor).

The Sun Devils will return to the track next week as they will compete in the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships June 10-13 in Fayetteville, Ark.

2009 Academic All-Pac-10 Selection
First Team
Women: Sarah Stevens
Men: Ben Engelhardt, Jeff Helwig, Justin Kremer, Jason Lewis, Thomas Petersen

Second Team
Women: Cj Navarro, Lissa Regets, Angela Spadafino, Maureen Stringham
Men: Ryan Whiting

Honorable Mention
Women: Chelsea Caloia, Ali Kielty, Dominique’ Maloy, Lisa Nelson, Nicole Pennes, Erika Simington
Men: Jeremy Egboro, Joey Heller, Kyle Hitchcock, David Mehlhorn