Skip to main content

Track & field places 16 students on MPSF All-Academic

April 21, 2008

The Arizona State University track and field program, winners of the 2008 NCAA Men's and Women's Indoor Championships, have placed 16 of its student-athletes on the Academic All-MPSF list, the Federation announced Monday. Nine men and seven women earned the academic honor after sporting a 3.0 GPA or better during the year while also competing for the team in more than half of its scheduled competitions.

The 16 selections is seven more than last year's nine with the women placing seven names on the list for the second year in a row while the men earned seven addition placements over last year's total. In all, four women and two men have attained the honor for the second year in a row, including women's student-athletes Jacquelyn Johnson, Ali Kielty, April Kubishta and Sarah Stevens and men's student-athletes Jason Lewis and Ryan Whiting.

Along with Lewis and Whiting, the men also placed Kyle Alcorn, Ben Engelhardt, Andy Haas, Joey Heller, Jeff Helmer, Jeff Helwig and Justin Kremer on the list while the four women mentioned earlier were joined on the team by Jenna Kingma, D'Metra Macedon and Alana Waterford.

The 2008 outdoor season continues for the Sun Devils this weekend as a select group will travel to Des Moines, Iowa, for the 99th Drake Relays (Friday-Saturday) while several distance runners will travel to Eugene, Ore., for the Oregon Relays (Friday-Saturday).

2008 Indoor MPSF All-Academic
Jacquelyn Johnson, Ali Kielty, Jenna Kingma, April Kubishta, D'Metra Macedon, Sarah Stevens, Alana Waterford

Kyle Alcorn, Ben Engelhardt, Andy Haas, Joey Heller, Jeff Helmer, Jeff Helwig, Justin Kremer, Jason Lewis, Ryan Whiting