Skip to main content

Thomas Weber to receive post-graduate scholarship

January 21, 2011

Thomas Weber, placekicker on the 2010 Arizona State University football team, is the 2011 recipient of a postgraduate scholarship presented annually by the Valley of the Sun Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, Chapter Executive Director Dan Manucci announced Friday.
Weber, 35 other Scholar-Athletes, coaches, referees, chapter leaders and a distinguished Arizonan, will be honored at the Chapter's annual Scholarship Banquet on Saturday, March 19, at 6:30 p.m. at the Scottsdale Plaza Resort, 7200 North Scottsdale Road.  For more information regarding the banquet, contact Dan Manucci at 480-516-6002. 
Weber was one of the most decorated kickers in school history.  A five-year member of the Sun Devil football team, he was ASU's kicker in 45 of 49 games over the past four years.  He connected on 68-of-87 field goal attempts and 136-of-143 extra points.  His 68 field goals are second-most all-time in school history, his 136 extra-points rank third all-time and his 340 points are second all-time by any position.  
Weber made 43 field goals in his first two seasons, the most by a Sun Devil in the beginning two seasons.  He served as the team's punter for the majority of the '07 and `08 seasons, with 106 career punts for 4,289 yards (40.2 avg.). He was the first freshman to win the Lou Groza Award as the nation's best kicker and was named a First-Team AP All-American in 2007.  His 24 made field goals and 118 points in 2007 placed him among the school's all-time single-season leaders in both categories.  In 2008 he was named a Playboy Magazine All-American, ASU's 15th all-time.  He set a school record by making 17 consecutive field goals over the first nine games of the 2007 season.  He kicked a 53-yard field goal at UCLA in 2007, the third-longest kick in school history and went 4-for-4 on field goals from beyond 50 yards in his career.
Active in ASU student leadership, Weber was named 2011 Vice President of ASU's Student Athlete Advisory Council.  He was a four-time member of the Academic All-Pac-10 team, earning First Team, Second Team and Honorable Mention (twice) honors.

ASU’s National Football Foundation Hall of Fame Scholar-Athletes

2011            Thomas Weber
2010            Mike Nixon
2009             Troy Nolan
2008             Michael Marquardt
2007            Jason Burke
2006             Chad Christensen
2005             Grayling Love
2004             Skyler Fulton
2003            Mike Barth
2002             Nick Murphy
2001            Mike Aguirre
1997            Damien Richardson
1996            Kirk Robertson
1995            Justin Dragoo
1993            Toby Mills
1992            Adam Brass
1990            Drew Metcalfe
1989            Mark Tingstad
1978            Chris Mott
1966            Ken Dyer