Skip to main content

Sun Devils set for Maroon & Gold Wrestle-Offs

October 29, 2010

2010 Wrestle-Off Bout Sheet (pdf)

The teams, honorary coaches and location have been selected for the Maroon & Gold Wrestle-Offs set for Friday night, Arizona State wrestling head coach Shawn Charles announced today. The wrestle-offs will start with five ‘semifinal’ matches starting at 5:30 p.m. and all finals matches starting at 6:30 p.m. with all matches being held at the training home of the Sun Devils, the Riches Wrestling Complex.

Serving as honorary coaches will be Billy Rosado for the maroon team and Glenn McMinn Sr., for the gold team. Both coaches are former Sun Devil All-American wrestlers and have both been enshrined as members of the ASU Athletic Hall of Fame. Rosado and McMinn Sr., along the current Sun Devil coaching staff, will see the action begin at 5:30 p.m. with five ‘semifinal’ matches with the winners advancing to the finals one hour later. The early matches will be:

125 - Ben Ashmore vs. Josh Sandoval
149 - Luke Ashmore vs. Kyle McIntosh
149 - Joel Smith vs. Tai Fukumoto
157 - Lucas Mariacher vs. Kevin Maelfeyt
165 - Derek Felton vs. Emilio Veramontes

Following those early matches, the winners will advance to fill in the remaining matches that will be contested in weight-class order. Here are the matches (the first name listed will be on the maroon team):

125 - Anthony Robles vs. winner of 125 semifinal (Ashmore/Sandoval)
133 - Carlos Castro vs. David Prado
141 - Kalin Goodsite vs. Orlando Jimenez
149 - winner of 149 semifinal #1 (Ashmore/McIntosh) vs. winner of 149 semifinal #2 (Smith/Fukumoto)
157 - Bubba Jenkins vs. winner of 157 semifinal (Mariacher/Maelfeyt)
165 - winner of 165 semifinal (Felton/Veramontes) vs. Te Edwards
174 - Eric Starks vs. Bobby Bowman
184 - Kevin Radford vs. Jake Meredith
197 - Luke Macchiaroli vs. Wesley Moore
285 - Michael Hawkins vs. Levi Cooper

The Sun Devils enter the season highly regarded in most of the ranking services. As a team, ASU is ranked as high at No. 10 in the nation and are led by a pair of Top 3-ranked individuals in Robles at 125 and Jenkins at 157. Ben Ashmore (133) and Edwards (165) also have been ranked highly in the preseason polls.

More on the Honorary Coaches
McMinn Sr., helped put the Sun Devil wrestling program on the map as he was the first All-American in program history by finishing as the national runner-up at 115 pounds in 1965. Two years later, he placed third overall to become the program’s first multiple-time All-American. He also was a two-time Western Athletic Conference (WAC) Champion and compiled 104 wins in his career. McMinn Sr., competed for ASU from 1864-68 and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1986 as the third wrestler honored.

Rosado may have only been with the program for two years, but he still made an impact. With a career record of 37-8-0, he ranks sixth on the career win percentage list (50 or fewer wins) at .822. An All-American by finishing fifth at 118 pounds in 1977, Rosado was a member of the 1976 WAC championship team before making the U.S. Olympic Freestyle team in 1976. He also made the national team in 1980, but did not compete in the Games as the U.S. boycotted the event being held in Russia. Rosado competed from 1976-78 and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1987.