Skip to main content

Sun Devils, Ciganda crowned Pac-10 Women's Golf Champions

April 26, 2009

Photo Gallery

Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

For the eighth time in Arizona State University history, the ASU women's golf team earned the conference crown. Led by conference medalist Carlota Ciganda and runner-up Jennifer Osborn, the Sun Devils used 11 birdies, and one eagle, to card an even 852 (293-281-278). The Sun Devils finished nine shots ahead of second place USC and 12 shots ahead of third place UCLA. This is the Sun Devils fourth tournament win of the season and is the second time ASU has won the Pac-10 Championship under Melissa Luellen. The Sun Devils last won the Pac-10 Championships in 2007. The Pacific-10 Championships presented by Duramed, was held at the par 71, 6,148-yard Stanford Golf Course.

Arizona State freshman Ciganda took medalist honors after winning a playoff over teammate Osborn and USC's Jennifer Song. In the playoff, the Spaniard chipped in for par on the 18th hole to earn the individual conference crown and her first collegiate win. Ciganda became the Sun Devils' first conference medalist since Louise Stahle in 2005. Stahle was also a freshman. The Sun Devils had not won the Pac-10 Championship and had a tournament medalist since 1995 when Wendy Ward led the Sun Devils to their fifth Pac-10 Championship. ASU went on to win the NCAA Championships that year.

Ciganda shot a 3-under 210 (70-71-69) en route to her medalist honors. Over the course of the tournament, Ciganda knocked in eight birdies with four of those being in the final round.

Senior Osborn used an eagle on a par-5 and 10 birdies to finish 3-under 210 (72-69-69). Osborn tied for second with USC's Song after Ciganda won the playoff.

Reigning NCAA Champion Azahara Munoz recorded her fourth top-five finish of the season. Munoz tied for fifth after carding 1-under 212 (73-68-71).

Juliana Murcia shot a 2-under 69 in the third round to jump into the top 20. Murcia finished 19th after shooting 9-over 222 (80-73-69) over the three rounds. Jaclyn Sweeney finished 16-over 229 (78-77-74).

Every Sun Devil in the Pac-10 lineup earned All-Conference honors. Ciganda, Munoz and Murcia were each named to the first team. It was Munoz's fourth time on the first-team. Murcia had previously twice been named honorable mention. Osborn and Sweeney were each named honorable mention.

The Sun Devils will next test their strength at the NCAA West Regional, which they will host at the Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz. The West Regional will be held May 7-9.

ASU PACIFIC-10 CHAMPIONS: 1987, 1988, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2007, 2009

ASU PACIFIC-10 MEDALISTS: Danielle Ammaccapane (1987), Pamela Wright (1988), Pearl Sinn (1989), Brandie Burton (1990), Wendy Ward (1993), Wendy Ward (1995), Grace Park (1999), Jimin Kang (2002), Louise Stahle (2005), Carlota Ciganda (2009)