Student leaders recognized at banquet

<p>ASU students have had a great impact on the community both on and off ASU’s Polytechnic campus. The 11th annual Student Leadership Awards Banquet on April 30 recognized outstanding contributions from exceptional student organizations, programs and individual students.</p><separator></separator><p>The Outstanding New Student Organization Award was given to Kappa Delta Pi, an education honors fraternity, for motivating a strong membership – 40 members in its founding year on the Poly campus – and successfully planning a number of service events including a book drive that yielded over 450 books for a local homeless shelter, the collection of over 8,000 school supply kits for children, and participation in the Autism Awareness walk at the Phoenix Zoo.</p><separator></separator><p>The Pre-Veterinary Medical Association received the Outstanding Student Organization Award for promoting student leadership and campus community. The organization worked with the Arizona Department of Education to develop a new event for the Future Farmers of America. This event required multiple partnerships and helped enhance the visibility of ASU Polytechnic.</p><separator></separator><p>The Bike Co-op Program took the Outstanding New Student Organization Program Award for their work to increase student safety and mobility with free bike repairs, information sessions on bicycle safety and free bike rental to students.</p><separator></separator><p>The Outstanding Support of Student Leadership Award, which is given to a faculty or staff member for support of student leadership via advising or mentoring student organizations, went to Robin McKay and Garret Westlake. McKay works as a staff psychologist in the Counseling Center and serves as the adviser for Women in Science and Engineering (WISE). Westlake serves as the director of Disability Resources and the Bike Co-op advisor.</p><separator></separator><p>Marc Ferrara, currently working on campus for the Bike Co-op, and Jocelyn Gibson, with the College of Teacher Education and Leadership, jointly received the Gary McGrath Outstanding Student Employee Award for their remarkable performance as student employees on the campus. The award was recently renamed to honor the founding dean of Student Affairs for the Polytechnic campus who is retiring in June.</p><separator></separator><p>The Chuck &amp; Judy Backus Outstanding Student Leadership Award, named for the campus’s founding provost Charles Backus and his wife, went to Ashley Glatting and Matt McCoy for their excellence in leadership and service.</p><separator></separator><p>The Involved Graduate Award, given to student leaders graduating in the 2009-2010 school year, went to the following students: Eleanor Andrieu, Bradley Bettencourt, Stephen Diamond, Rose Farlow, Brandi Finney, Ryan Fogelsanger, Alex Frias, Ashley Glatting, Michael Gorski, Aaron Gould, Ross Greenblat, Zachary Hall, Michael Horn, Sierra Johnson, Ashley Joy, Yulia Kalina, Ashley Karner, Katie Kelly, Linda Lazzar, Amber Mack, Danielle Megui, Cody Mosley, Chelsi Mundy, Teresa Rednour, Elena Reiche, Becky Rubenstrunk, Amanda Sosnowski, Michael Tarantino, Jessica Voge, Lynette Willie and Melissa Winfrey.</p><separator></separator><p><strong>Media contact:</strong><br />Chris Lambrakis<br />(480) 727-1173<br /><a href=""></a></p&gt;