Softball to host Annual Meet, Greet and Select-A-Seat

January 11, 2011

Free"> Camp Clinic Release in PDF Format" target="_new">" border="0" alt="Get Acrobat Reader" width="9" height="10" />

Sun Devil Softball is happy to announce their Sixth Annual Meet, Greet and Select-A-Seat night and free clinic for ages 8-18 to usher in the 2011 season. In addition the team will also put on a skills demonstration as well. The event will take place on Saturday, January 22 from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Registration for the free clinic starts at 11 a.m. with the clinic starting at 11:30. All events will take place in Tempe at ASU's Farrington Stadium. Download Full Image

After the conclusion of the skills demonstration the team will also be available to sign autographs and take pictures with fans. 

In addition the ticket office will be on-hand to answer and questions on single, season and group tickets as well as help with select-a-seat.

The Sun Devils thank their fans, friends and family for their continued support and hope to see them at Farrington Stadium starting this February!

Onyeali named Freshman All-American by FWAA

January 11, 2011

Arizona State University defensive end Junior">">... Onyeali, a true freshman from Denver, Colorado, has been named to the 2010 Freshman All-American Team by The Football Writers Association of America, it was announced Monday.

The Football Writers Association of America announced its 10th annual Freshman All-America Team on Monday morning during the association's annual awards breakfast. Each of the 11 NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision Conferences is represented on the team.

Onyeali was key to a Sun Devil defense that was second in the league and 17th in the nation in rushing defense (120.2 yards per game). He led the Sun Devils and all Pac-10 freshmen with 6.5 sacks for a loss of 61 yards. Of his 18 stops this season, 11.5 were for loss.

Last month Onyeali was selected as the Pacific-10 Conference Defensive Freshman Of The Year by the league's coaches. Arizona State claimed back-to-back honors as linebacker Vontaze">"... Burfict was honored last season as the Pac-10 Defensive Freshman of the Year.

In addition to this latest honor, Onyeali also was named to the 2010 Freshman All-American squad and to the First-Team Freshman All-American Team.

The Big 12 and Southeastern conferences each placed five players on the team, followed by the Atlantic Coast with four, the Pacific-10 with three, and the Big Ten, Big East, Mountain West and Conference USA with two players each.

Florida State's first-year coach, Jimbo Fisher, taking over for the legendary Bobby Bowden, claimed the first-year coaching honors when his Seminoles finished with a 10-4 record after beating South Carolina in the Chick-fil-A Bowl.

The team and coach are selected by a 11-person panel of nationally-prominent writers led by Mike Griffith of the Knoxville News Sentinel. Both true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were considered for the team and are so noted.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tigerfwaa">"> or 972-713-6198.

The complete FWAA Freshman All-American Team can be found at this link:" target="_blank"> Download Full Image