Skip to main content

Seth Blair named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year

June 04, 2010

Arizona State University junior right-hander Seth Blair has been named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year, the conference announced today. It marks the third straight season that an ASU pitcher has received the honor, after Mike Leake won each of the last two years. It is the first time in Pac-10 history a school has produced three consecutive Pitcher of the Year award winners.

Blair (Rock Falls, Ill.) is 11-0 with a 3.20 ERA on the season. His 11 wins are the most among all Pac-10 pitchers, and it equals the number of victories he had in his first two years combined. Blair has a team-high 90 strikeouts to just 22 walks on the season. The Sun Devils went 14-1 in Blair's 15 starts this season, including an 8-1 mark in the opening game of each conference series.

This is the fifth time a Sun Devil has won the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year, as Blair joins Leake (2008 and 2009), Noah Peery (1994) and Marc Barcelo (1993).