Sendek named Pac-10 Coach of the Year

<p>Sun Devil head coach <a href="">He… Sendek</a> has been named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year. He becomes the second Sun Devil to earn Pac-10 Coach of the Year, joining Ned Wulk in 1979-1980.</p><separator></separator><p>Junior wing <a href="">Ty Abbott</a> has earned a spot on the 10-man All-Pac-10 first-team and <a href="">… Lockett</a> has earned a spot on the five-man Pac-10 All-Freshman Team.</p><separator></separator><p>Sendek has led ASU to its third straight 20-win season, marking the first time since 1961-1963 that ASU has posted three straight 20-win seasons. ASU was 21-13 in 2007-2008, 25-10 last year and is 22-9 this year. He also led ASU to a 12-6 second-place finish in the Pac-10 – its highest finish since 1980-1981.</p><separator></separator><p>He also won the Coach of the Year Award in the MAC (1994-1995 at Miami of Ohio) and in the ACC (2003-2004 at NC State).</p><separator></separator><p>In the 18 league games, Abbott finished ninth in the loop in scoring (14.7 points per game), 11th in rebounding (5.7 rpg.), ninth in free throw percentage (.818 as he was 36-of-44), fourth in three-point percentage (.411 as he was 53-of-129), second in three-pointers made per game (2.9) and sixth in defensive rebounds per game (5.0).</p><separator></separator><p>Lockett, from Golden Valley, Minn., has played in all 31 games and started in 15 and averaged 20.4 minutes per game. He averaged 7.0 points and 3.6 rebounds and shot 75-of-155 (.484) from the floor. He posted double digit scoring numbers in five Pac-10 contests, including 17 points, six boards and eight assists vs. Stanford on Jan. 30.</p><separator></separator><p><a href="">… Glasser</a> earned honorable mention honors while <a href="">E… Boateng</a> earned all-defensive team honorable mention honors.</p><separator></separator><p><strong>Sun Devil Pac-10 all freshman selections (ASU head coach noted)</strong><br /> <a href="">… Lockett</a>, 2009-10 (<a href="">He… Sendek</a>)<br /> <a href="">J… Harden</a>, 2007-08 (<a href="">He… Sendek</a>)<br /> <a href="… Pendergraph</a>, 2005-06 (<a href="">Rob Evans</a>)<br /> <a href="">Ike Diogu</a> (Freshman of the Year), 2002-03 (<a href="">Rob Evans</a>)<br /> <a href="">Ed… House</a>, 1996-97 (Bill Frieder)<br /> Ron Riley, 1992-93 (Bill Frieder)<br /> Mario Bennett, 1991-92 (Bill Frieder)<br /> Dwayne Fontana, 1990-91 (Bill Frieder)<br /> Jamal Faulkner (Freshman of the Year), 1990-91 (Bill Frieder)<br /> Chris Sandle, 1984-85 (Bob Weinhauer)<br /> Steve Beck, 1983-84 (Bob Weinhauer)<br /> <a href="">By… Scott</a> (Freshman of the Year), 1979-80 (Ned Wulk)</p>