Skip to main content

Sendek earns Basketball Writers Association Disctrict Coach of the Year

March 09, 2010

College basketball writers from California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, Arizona and Alaska chose Sun Devil head coach Herb Sendek as the District IX Coach of the Year after ASU posted a 22-9 overall mark and a 12-6 mark in the Pac-10. ASU finished second in the Pac-10 for the first time since 1981.

Sendek also won the District IX honor in 2007-08 after leading ASU to a 21-13 mark after an 8-22 mark the previous season. He also earned the honors in Disctrict III (Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Maryland).

The Pac-10 announced Monday that he earned Pac-10 Coach of the Year, just the second time a Sun Devil had earned Coach of the Year honors. Ned Wulk earned the honor in 1979-80.

ASU takes on Stanford on Thursday night in the Pac-10 Tournament at 6 p.m. PT on FOX Sports Net.