Skip to main content

Outstanding students to receive top honors at commencement

May 08, 2007

Twenty ASU graduating students will receive Outstanding Graduate awards from the ASU Alumni Association at commencement May 10, having been chosen by their individual colleges. These students combine high academic achievement with leadership – and often with service to the community.

One student, biology senior Taylor Jackson, is receiving the honor from both the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Barrett, the Honors College.

Others are Amelia Warren-Sifuentes, majoring in criminal justice, College of Human Services; Lisa Pena, graphic design, College of Design; Shawn Smith, nursing, College of Nursing and Healthcare Innovation; Allison Ward, social work, College of Public Programs, Adam Lessell, graphic information technology, College of Science & Technology; Edmundo Aranda, special education, College of Teacher Education & Leadership; Andrea White, nutrition, East College; Mary Bryan Curd, art history, Herberger College of the Arts; and Meredith Lewis, industrial engineering and supply chain management, Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering.

They also include Michael DiGirolamo, secondary education, Mary Lou Fulton College of Education; Carly Edgington, agribusiness, Morrison School of Management & Agribusiness; David Herring, psychology, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences; Robert Weeks, law, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law; Elizabeth Reusch, business administration, School of Global Management & Leadership; Kristi Kull, curriculum and instruction, School of Educational Innovation & Teacher Preparation; Malissa Geer, interdisciplinary studies, University College; Britanie Hall, management, W. P. Carey School of Business; and Stephanie Berger, journalism, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism & Mass Communication.

In addition, 39 seniors are receiving Moeur Awards from the ASU Alumni Association for achieving 4.0 grade-point averages and having completed all their classwork at ASU.

They are Rachel Aguilar, majoring in bioengineering; Catherine Amos, French; Ashley Beason, accountancy and computer information systems; Stephanie Berger, journalism; Zachary Cann, journalism and Spanish; Emily Charlson, biology; Terry Crist, political science; Matthew Crossman, justice studies; Matthew Dauphin, justice studies; Carrie Durward, nutrition; Steffen Eikenberry, mathematics; Lynn Erickson, art (intermedia); Megan Frankiewicz, political science; Jon Frosch, English; Brittany Garmyn, English and political science; Britanie Hall, management; Ashley Irvin, communication; Erin Johnson, political science; and Lia Kamitsis, English and psychology.

Other Moeur Award winners are Michelle Katz, recreation and tourism; Jill Kripps, kinesiology; Elizabeth Kuehn, history; Sarah Leung, bioengineering; Michael Masci, finance; Zachary McKinney, political science and French; Filip Mladenovic, computer systems engineering; Kate Mullen, mathematics; Sara Myklebust, political science and Spanish; Molly O'Brien, journalism; Laura Richmond, secondary education; Whitney Schlee, marketing; Douglas Self, political science; Marina Shapiro, English and Spanish; Ljubinka Slaveska, journalism; Brandon Temple, marketing and accountancy, Helena Varnavas, urban planning; Emily Wack, English; Jessica Wong, linguistics; and Joseph Young, computer information systems.