Skip to main content

Mike Leake named semifinalist for Pitcher of the Year Award

May 13, 2009

Arizona State University junior right hander Mike Leake has been named a semifinalist for the Pitcher of the Year Award. The award is presented by the College Baseball Foundation. Leake was the only pitcher from the Pac-10 among the 15 semifinalists.

Leake (Fallbrook, Calif.) is 12-1 with a 1.47 ERA for the Sun Devils. He leads the Pac-10 in victories, strike outs (104) and innings pitcher (97.2) and he has also tossed four complete games. Leake was recently named an ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VIII selection for the second consecutive year. He was the 2008 Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year and a semifinalist for the Roger Clemens Award.

Pitcher of the Year Award Semifinalists

Mike Leake, Arizona State

Deck McGuire, Georgia Tech

Eric Arnett, Indiana

A.J. Morris, Kansas State

Louis Coleman, Louisiana State

Kyle Bellamy, Miami

Buddy Baumann, Missouri State

Daniel Calhoun, Murray State

Alex Wimmers, Ohio State

Mark Serrano, Oral Roberts

Addison Reed, San Diego State

Stephen Strasburg, San Diego State

Austin Wood, Texas

Brooks Raley, Texas A&M

Daniel Bibona, UC Irvine