Skip to main content

Men's swimming and diving opens 2010 with two wins

January 03, 2010

The Arizona State men's swimming and diving team picked up two wins to open 2010 as they defeated Carthage College 156-62 and Saint Louis 166-58. The Sun Devils are now 2-3 on the season.

Constantin Blaha made his Sun Devil debut a spectacular one as he won swept the diving events. The Austrian Olympian won the 3-meter with 428.63 points and the 1-meter with 391.80 points. Both scores are automatic NCAA qualifying totals and within one meet he is set to go to Austin for the NCAA Zone E Championships. Cameron Bradshaw placed second on both boards while Riley McCormick came in third on both.

Jesper Akesson took first in the 100 breast and 50 free. He clocked in at 1:00.37 in the 100 breast and 21.82 in the 50 free. Adrian Kirkpatrick took first in the 150 freestyle as he swam to a time of 1:17.14. Nolan Ruane finished in 46.99 to take first in the 100 free while Max Laney hit the wall at 52.86 to win the 100 back. Freshman Caleb Veazey finished first in the 300 free with a time of 2:44.88.

The ASU 200 medley relay team of James Rigg, Akesson, Yutaro Yamashita and Nolan Ruane won in 1:36.72 while the 200 free relay team of Ruane, Kirkpatrick, Veazey and Rigg took first with a time of 1:27.24.

The Sun Devil women will host Oregon State next Saturday. Time is to be announced.