Skip to main content

Men's golfers competing in British Amateur

June 17, 2009

Click here for the British Amateur match play bracket

Entering his 18th season at ASU in 2009-2010, men's golf coach Randy Lein can proudly state he has recruited a NCAA champion (Alejandro Canizares in 2003), a U.S. Amateur champion (Jeff Quinney in 2000), a U.S. Public Links champion (Chez Reavie in 2001), an Arizona Amateur champion (Jesse Mueller in 2001) an English Amateur champion (Paul Casey in 1998 and 1999) and a European Amateur champion (Stephan Gross in 2008) to ASU.

Three Sun Devils are attempting to add another trophy this week at the British Amateur, held June 15-20 at Formby and West Lancashire. The first stage of the Championship involved 288 players each of whom played two rounds of 18 holes, one on each of the two courses. The 64 lowest scores over the 36 holes and ties for 64th place are competing in the match play stage of the Championship. Each match consists of one round of 18 holes except the Final which will be over 36 holes.

Jesper Kennegard, the 2009 NCAA West Regional medalist and a two-time honorable mention All-American, tied for ninth in stroke play with a 3-under 141. James Byrne tied for 19th with a 1-under 143 while Stephan Gross, last year's European Amateur champion, tied for 32nd at even-144.

Kennegard then defeated Charlie Cossins 3 and 1 to advance and will now face Tommy Fleetwood.

Byrne will face Sam Stuart, while Gross fell to Italy's Joon Kim 2 and 1 in his opening round.

The secretary of Royal Liverpool Golf Club came up with the idea of an amateur event in 1885 to which leading clubs were invited to send entrants. A total of 44 players from 12 clubs took part and the winner was Allan Macfie. After the initial success a championship open to all amateurs was held the following year at St Andrews when 24 clubs subscribed to a handsome trophy. Yet it was not until 1922, in a Championship Committee meeting in the Royal and Ancient clubhouse that it was decided to recognise the 1885 event as the first true Amateur Championship and Allan Macfie's name was added to the trophy.