Skip to main content

Men's golf warms up for Pac-10 title defense at Stanford

April 19, 2009

Final Results from Stanford Intercollegiate in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The ASU men's golf team shot a 16-under 824 (270-279-275) to finish third at the Stanford Collegiate this weekend, as both Scott Pinckney and Knut Borsheim (72-67-67) tied for tenth with a 4-under 206. (68-71-67).

The Sun Devils next travel to Seattle to defend its Pac-10 title April 27-29.

Freshman Chan Kim shot 69 in each round to finish with a 3-under 207 and a tied for 13th, while Stephan Gross finished at even-par 210 (66-72-72). Jesper Kennegard tied for 34th at 2-over 212 (67-73-72) while Cameron Edens, playing as an individual, shot a 9-over 219 (69-71-79).

Last year at the Pac-10 championships at The Meadow Club (par-71, 6,686 yards) in Fairfax, Calif., ASU, playing with three freshmen, two sophomores and a senior, captured its eighth Pac-10 title in 16 years under head coach Randy Lein in a one-hole playoff over defending conference champion USC (#2 Golfstat/#3 Golfweek). ASU trailed by 16 to the Trojans after the first round on Monday.

ASU shot 354-361-356-364 and tied with the Trojans (338-374-357-366) at 15-over 1,435. The Pac-10 Championship counts the low five scores from the six-man teams.

ASU became the fifth different school to win the team title in the past five years as USC (2007), UCLA (2006), Washington (2005) and Arizona (2004) each won.

Arizona State has now won 12 Pac-10 titles in its 30 seasons, including a conference record six straight from 1995-2000. In addition to the six straight Pac-10 titles, ASU's other five Pac-10 titles have come in 1979 (its first year in the league), 1981, 1989, 1990, 1993 and now 2008. ASU tied for the league title in 2005 with Washington but lost on a tiebreaker formula, as the league decided to go to a playoff format after that season. In its past six Pac-10 championships, ASU has finished first (2008), third (2003, 2006 and 2007), second (2004) and tied for first (2005).

ASU coach Randy Lein has now led ASU to eight Pac-10 titles in his 16 seasons. ASU previously won titles in 1993, Lein's first year, and then won six straight from 1995-2000. ASU tied for first but lost in a tiebreaker in 2005, finished second in 2001 and 2004 and third in 1994, 2003, 2006 and 2007. Since joining the Pac-10 in the 1978-79 school year, ASU has finished out of the top five just twice in its 30 championships (ninth in 2002 and sixth in 1983).