Skip to main content

Men's golf opens 2009-10 season with victory over top teams

September 20, 2009

Final Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Golfweek recaps the tough field and course at the Olympia Fields Invitational

In a tournament loaded with talent, the fifth-ranked Sun Devil men's golf team battled past top-ranked Stanford and a host of NCAA Championship contenders to finish first in the Olympia Fields/ Fighting Illini Invitational. ASU, who was one of 12 ranked teams in the field, shot a 13-over par 293 on Sunday to end the tournament with a 30-over par 870 (293-284-293).

Senior Tristan Bierenbroodspot and junior Scott Pinckney finished in the top-10 individually, beating out a handful of the best collegiate golfers in the country. Bierenbroodspot tallied a 4-over par 74 to finish tied for sixth with a 4-over par 214 (71-69-74), while Pinckney collected eight birdies in the tournament and ended tied for eighth at 5-over par 215 (68-76-71). Junior Jesper Kennegard tied for 19th after shooting a three-day combined 10-over par 220 (75-71-74) and senior Knut Borsheim finished with an 11-over par 221 (79-68-74). Junior Cameron Edens consistently improved in each round of the three-day event and moved into 67th with a 27-over par 237 (82-79-76).

"I'm really proud of our guys to do so well in their first tournament against such a strong field," said ASU head coach Randy Lein. "Tristan and Scott just were so solid all three days. It was good to have a lead after two rounds, and for them to battle back after falling behind early in the day was very encouraging."

No. 2 Oklahoma State finished in second place, followed by No. 10 Texas, No. 1 Stanford, No. 25 Florida State and No. 18 Florida. Harris English of Georgia (71-70-70) and Trent Whitekiller of Oklahoma State (71-71-69) tied for the individual title with a 1-over par 211.

The Sun Devils next tournament is the two-day Ping Preview in Seattle, beginning Sept. 27.

Teams participating in the Olympia Fields/ Fighting Illini Invitational

No. 1 Stanford
No. 2 Oklahoma State
No. 5 Arizona State
No. 6 Illinois
No. 7 Georgia
No. 8 Augusta State
No. 10 Texas
No. 16 USC
No. 18 Florida
No. 25 Florida State
No. 28 Wake Forest
No. 30 San Diego State