Skip to main content

Men's golf hosts Thunderbird Invitational

April 06, 2009

Click here for ASU Thunderbird Invitational champions and records

Click here for ASU men's golf statistics from Golfstat

The Arizona State men's golf team plays host on April 10-11 (Friday-Saturday) to the 37th annual ASU Thunderbird Invitational at ASU's Karsten Golf Course (par-71, 7,057 yards). The 16 schools will play 36 holes Friday and a final round on Saturday. ASU has won six of the past 10 (1999-2001, 2003-2004, 2008) Thunderbird Invitational Tournaments and has won the tournament 13 of the past 20 years. Last year, ASU won the tournament with a 9-under 843 while Espen Kofstad of Denver won medalist honors with a 3-under 210. Live Scoring Live scoring will be available at

TOURNAMENT HISTORY: ASU has won the Thunderbird Invitational 14 times (1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004 and 2008). Nine times Sun Devils have won the individual title: Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Phil MickelsonJeff Quinney (1999), Paul Casey (2000) and Alejandro Canizares (2004). (1991 and 1992), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995),

TEAMS: The competing schools are host Arizona State, Arizona, Ball State, BYU, California, Colorado State, Cal State Northridge, Denver, Fresno State, UC Irvine, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, San Diego State, Texas Christian and UNLV.