Skip to main content

McDaniel elected to Football Hall of Fame

February 02, 2009

Former Arizona State University and NFL offensive lineman Randall McDaniel was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday.

McDaniel lettered at ASU from 1984 to 1987, and he is considered one of the greatest offensive linemen in school history. He earned All-Pacific-10 Conference honors at offensive guard in 1986 and 1987, and he was a consensus All-American selection as a senior.

He was also a part of the 1986 team that won the first Pac-10 championship in school history and defeated Michigan 22-15 in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1, 1987.

The Minnesota Vikings selected McDaniel with the 19th overall pick in the 1988 NFL Draft, and he went on to a stellar 14-year professional career with the Vikings (1988-99) and Tampa Bay Buccaneers (2000-01). He earned 12 consecutive Pro Bowl invitations from 1989 to 2000, and he was an NFL All-Pro selection nine straight years from 1990 to 1998. He played in 222 career regular season games, and made 202 consecutive starts to end his career.

McDaniel is one of six people selected to this year's Hall of Fame class, along with Bob Hayes, Bruce Smith, Derrick Thomas, Ralph Wilson and Rod Woodson. He becomes the fourth former Sun Devil in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, joining Mike Haynes (Class of 1997), John Henry Johnson (Class of 1987) and Charley Taylor (Class of 1984).

McDaniel was also inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in December 2008.