Skip to main content

Krista Donnenwirth hits three home runs in day one of Fall Tournament

November 14, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Eight home runs, three from Krista Donnenwirth alone, and 47 runs scored was the final tally on the night as the Sun Devil Softball team kept their fall tournament season spotless, as they beat Central Arizona 6-1 and Chandler-GilbertCommunity College 23-0 and 18-0 to push their fall record to 15-0. The Sun Devils will hit the field again tomorrow with a 3 and 5 p.m. games against Central Arizona followed with a 7 p.m. nightcap Mesa Community College to wrap their fall season. 

Game one saw Katie Burkhart blaze by the Central Arizona Vaqueras as she racked up 18 strikeouts in the game while allowing only two hits. For the offense Mindy Cowles went 1-for-2 on the night with two runs scored as she launched one of her two home runs on the night to lead ASU to a 6-1 win over the Vaqueras.

In their first meeting with the Gilbert-Chandler Community College Coyotes, Megan Elliott pitched a one-hit, eight strikeout complete game shutout to push her fall record to 5-0. The ASU offense ignited in the first and never stopped as they scored ten runs in the first inning and 13 through the rest of the game with Krista Donnenwirth leading the way going 3-for-4 with two home runs en route to their 23-0 win.

In the nightcap the Sun Devils faced the GC CC Coyotes again, this time with Mandy Urfer on the mound where she allowed only six hits with four strikeouts in the complete game shutout. The offense was again unstoppable with Donnewirth going 2-for-3 with another home run on the night to bring her total to three in two games. The star of the offense though was Clarissa Andorfer-Lopez, who went 3-for-4 with two runs scored and four RBIs, to account for six runs in the 18-0 final score for the Sun Devils. 

The Sun Devils will hit the field again tomorrow as they wrap up their final fall tournament where they face Central Arizona at 3 and 5 p.m. followed with their final game at 7 p.m. versus Mesa CC. All games will be held at Farrington Stadium and admission is free.