Skip to main content

Jeff Pendergraph named Pac-10 Player of the Week

February 11, 2008

Jeff Pendergraph has been named the U.S. Bank Pacific-10 Conference Men's Basketball Player of the Week for Feb. 4 - 10, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Pendergraph, a junior from Etiwanda, Calif., posted a career-high 29 points in the 59-54 win at Arizona. He shot 12-of-16 (.750) from the field to help raise his conference-leading field goal percentage to 61.3 percent. Pendergraph also recorded eight rebounds and one block in Sunday's game. The 59-54 win over the Wildcats completed the season series sweep over Arizona, first by ASU since 1994-95. Also, the win halted a 12-game losing streak in Tucson, which also dated to the 1994-95 season.

It marked the most points scored by a Sun Devil against Arizona since Mario Bennett had 34 at Arizona on March 11, 1995, in a 103-98 double-overtime win.

This is the first weekly honor for Pendergraph and Arizona State's 26th Player of the Week all-time. He is the third Sun Devil to earn the award this year, following freshmen Ty Abbott (Dec. 17) and James Harden (Jan. 7). It marks the first time in the 25-year history of the award (started in 1983-84) that three Sun Devils have earned the honor in the same season.

Seventeen ASU players have been named Pac-10 Player of the Week on 26 occasions.

Jeff Pendergraph (Jr.), Feb. 11, 2008
James Harden (Fr.), Jan. 7, 2008
Ty Abbott (Fr.), Dec. 17, 2007

Ike Diogu (Jr.), Feb. 7, 2005
Ike Diogu (Jr.), Jan. 10, 2005
Ike Diogu (Jr.), Dec. 6, 2004

Tommy Smith (Sr.), Mar. 10, 2003
Ike Diogu (Fr.), Feb. 16, 2003

Chad Prewitt (Sr.), Jan. 7, 2002

Awvee Storey (Jr.), Feb. 5, 2001

Eddie House (Sr.), Feb. 21, 2000
Eddie House (Sr.), Jan. 10, 2000
Eddie House (Sr.), Jan. 3, 2000
Eddie House (Sr.), Dec. 20, 1999

Eddie House (Jr.), Dec. 21, 1998

Jeremy Veal (Sr.), Feb. 9, 1998

Mario Bennett (Jr.), Mar. 13, 1995
Mario Bennett (Jr.), Feb. 13, 1995

Stevin Smith (Jr.), Feb. 1, 1993
Dwayne Fontana (Jr.), Jan. 4, 1993

Mario Bennett (Fr.), Feb. 24, 1992
Jamal Faulkner (So.), Jan. 20, 1992

Alex Austin (Sr.), Jan. 9, 1990

Arthur Thomas (Jr.), Feb. 17, 1986

Bobby Thompson (Sr.) Jan. 14, 1985
Chris Sandle (Fr.) Dec. 10, 1984