Skip to main content

Four men's golfers named to Pac-10 All-Academic teams

May 28, 2009

Four members of the Arizona State men's golf team were named to Pac-10 All-Academic teams, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today. To be eligible for the Pac-10 academic team, a student-athlete must at least have a 3.0 grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Knut Borsheim earned first-team honors for the second consecutive season. Borsheim currently has a 3.89 in finance at ASU's prestigious W.P. Carey School of Business. With Borsheim's first-team honors, ASU has now had 22 Pac-10 All-Academic first-team selections by 11 players in Randy Lein's 17 seasons. This season marks the 11th straight year at least one Sun Devil has earned first-team honors. Borsheim joins Alejandro Canizares (2004-06), Brett Johnson (2003-04), Nick Manthey (2002-03), Jeff Quinney (1999-2001), Chris Hanell (1995-97) and Todd Demsey (1993-95) as multiple honorees.

James Byrne and Jesper Kennegard were selected to the second-team. Kennegard currently carries a 3.24 in geography while Byrne has a 3.39 in economics. This is both Byrne and Kennegard's first Pac-10 All-Academic honors. Tristan Bierenbroodspot was named to the honorable mention team.

2009: Knut Borsheim
2008: Knut Borsheim
2007: Fredrik Andersson
2006: Alejandro Canizares
2005: Alejandro Canizares
2004: Alejandro Canizares, Brett Johnson
2003: Brett Johnson, Nick Manthey
2002: Nick Manthey
2001: Jeff Quinney, Ryan Whitaker
2000: Jeff Quinney
1999: Greg Padilla, Jeff Quinney
1997: Chris Hanell, Scott Johnson
1996: Chris Hanell
1995: Todd Demsey, Chris Hanell
1994: Todd Demsey
1993: Todd Demsey