Skip to main content

Five Sun Devils receive preseason honors

July 28, 2007

Five ASU football student-athletes have been named to the Preseason All Pac-10 teams. Senior safety Josh Barrett earned Preseason First Team honors while four Sun Devils were named to the Second Team.

In addition to the First Team honors, Barrett, from Reno, Nev., was also named the 19th best player in the Pac-10 Conference.

Senior RB Ryan Torain (Shawnee Mission, Kan.) is joined on the Second Team Offense by senior OL Mike Pollak (Tempe, Ariz.). Torain was listed as the 18th best player in the conference.

Senior Michael Marquardt (Vista, Calif.) and sophomore Dexter Davis (Phoenix, Ariz.), both defensive linemen, were named to the Second Team on defense.

The Sun Devils open the Dennis Erickson era on Sept. 1, 2007, when they host the San Jose Spartans at Sun Devil Stadium. Game time is set for 7 p.m. from Tempe.

The following is a complete list of's Preseason All Pac-10 teams:

All Pac-10 First Team Offense:

QB - John David Booty, Sr. USC
RB - Yvenson Bernard, Sr. Oregon State
RB - Jonathan Stewart, Jr. Oregon
WR - DeSean Jackson, Jr. California
WR - Sammie Stroughter, Sr. Oregon State
TE - Craig Stevens, Sr. California
OL - Sam Baker, Sr. USC
OL - Alex Mack, Jr. California
OL - Jeremy Perry, Jr. Oregon State
OL - Shannon Tevaga, Sr. UCLA
OL - Max Unger, Jr. Oregon
PK - Alexis Serna, Sr. Oregon State
KR - Jonathan Stewart, Jr. Oregon