Erickson named to Snohomish County Sports Hall of Fame

<p>Arizona State University head football coach <a href="… Erickson</a> has been named as a member of the inaugural class of inductees for the Snohomish County (Washington) Sports Hall of Fame.</p><separator></separator><p>Erickson, in his fourth season at ASU, was born in Everett, Washington and graduated from Everett High School in Snohomish County.</p><separator></separator><p>Eleven individuals and two teams comprise the class, which will be formally inducted in September, 2010 and then enshrined in a permanent display at the Comcast Arena.</p><separator></separator><p>"We could not have asked for a better representation of athletes, coaches and teams for the inaugural group," said Frank Foster, chair of the 20-member Hall of Fame selection committee. "Each is unique to themselves, but all of them brought national and in some cases international acclaim to Snohomish County as well as to themselves."</p><separator></separator><p>Other members of the class includes major league baseball Hall of Famer Earl Averill, University of Washington and NFL player Chris Chandler, major league baseball player Larry Christenson, Everett High School football and basketball coach Jim Ennis, college basketball coach Marv Harshman, college basketball player Jo Levin, golfer Anne Quast, figure skater Rosalynn Sumners, adventurer and explorer Helen Thayer, and UW and NFL player George Wilson.</p><separator></separator><p>Also being inducted are Everett High School's 1920 national championship football team and the Monroe High School state basketball championship teams from 1952 and 1953.</p><separator></separator><p>The inductees were chosen after a process that included nominations from committee members and the public. According to Foster, a list of 28 finalists was compiled, and a vote of the committee determined this year's inductees.</p><separator></separator><p>The inductees will be honored at a September 23 banquet, which will feature former UW and NFL player Curt Marsh as the keynote speaker. Everett radio personality Tom Lafferty will be the master of ceremonies.</p>