Skip to main content

Erickson named Pac-10 Coach of the Year

December 04, 2007

Arizona State University head football coach Dennis Erickson has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year, the Pac-10 announced today. The Pac-10 also announced their All-Conference teams, which featured 15 Sun Devils, including four who earned First-Team honors.

Coach Erickson won the Pac-10 Coach of the Year Award for the third time in his career, joining Washington's Don James and USC's Pete Carroll as three-time winners. Erickson is the only man to win the award at three different schools. He is the third Arizona State head coach to win the award, joining John Cooper in 1986 and Bruce Snyder, who was the 1996 Pac-10 Coach of the Year. Erickson led Arizona State to a share of the Pac-10 championship and a 10-2 record during his first season in Tempe. He has 158 career victories, ninth most among active FBS coaches.

Senior center Mike Pollak, senior linebacker Robert James, sophomore Kyle Williams and redshirt freshman kicker Thomas Weber all earned First-Team All-Pac-10 honors. Williams was selected as a punt returner.

Pollak (Tempe, Ariz.) started all 12 regular season games at center for ASU after earning Second-Team All-Pac-10 honors a year ago.

James (Phoenix, Ariz.) led the Sun Devils with 99 tackles this season. He also intercepted four passes and recorded eight tackles for loss, including 2.5 sacks.

Williams (Scottsdale, Ariz.) led the Pac-10 in punt returns, averaging 11.4 yards per return. He also has 29 catches for 360 yards and six touchdowns as a wide receiver.

Weber (Downey, Calif.), a Groza Award finalist, set a school record by making his first 17 field goal attempts of his career. He finished the regular season 22-23, tying a Pac-10 freshman record for most field goals. He also handles the Sun Devils punting duties, averaging 39.6 yards per kick and downing 10 inside the 20-yard line.

Sophomore defensive end Dexter Davis, cornerback Justin Tryon and safety Troy Nolan all earned Second-Team honors. Senior wide receiver Rudy Burgess, junior quarterback Rudy Carpenter, junior guard Paul Fanaika, junior wide receiver Michael Jones, senior defensive tackle Michael Marquardt, sophomore wide receiver Chris McGaha, senior offensive tackle Brandon Rodd and junior defensive end Luis Vasquez all earned Honorable Mention All-Pac-10 honors.

Pac-10 Coach of the Year Dennis Erickson and his Co-Pac-10 champion Arizona State Sun Devils will face the Texas Longhorns in the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl in San Diego on Dec. 27.