Skip to main content

Dennis Erickson, five players honored by

November 28, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - Five Arizona State University football players have been named to the All-Pacific-10 Conference team and first-year head coach Dennis Erickson has been named the 2007 Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

Linebacker Robert James and kicker Thomas Weber were named to the First-Team, while quarterback Rudy Carpenter, defensive end Dexter Davis and safety Troy Nolan were named to the Second-Team.

James, a senior from Phoenix, leads the Sun Devils with 94 total tackles, including eight tackles for loss. He has also intercepted four passes and recorded 2.5 quarterback sacks.

Weber, a redshirt freshman from Downey, Calif., set an ASU record by making the first 17 field goal attempts of his career. The Groza Award finalist is 20-21 on field goals, including a 53-yarder and the game-winner against Washington State. Weber also has handled the punting duties for ASU, averaging 40.2 yards per punt with nine having been downed inside the 20-yard line.

Carpenter (Westlake, Calif.) has thrown for 2,768 yards and 21 touchdowns so far this year. Davis (Phoenix, Ariz.) leads ASU with 8.5 sacks and 11.5 tackles for loss. Nolan (Los Angeles, Calif.) is tied for the Pac-10 lead with five interceptions and is second on the team with 57 tackles.

Erickson has led the Devils to a 9-2 record, including a win over then-#21 California on October 27. He has the Sun Devils eligible for a fourth straight bowl and is now 157-67-1 in his 19th season as a college head coach.