Crow to lead Pac-10 CEO Executive Group

<p>Michael M. Crow, president of ASU, has been selected as chairman of the CEO Executive Group of the Pacific-10 Conference.</p><separator></separator><p>Crow will serve a two-year term, beginning July 1, for the CEOs which are responsible for the governance of the conference. The group meets twice annually. He is committed to helping the Pac-10 Conference set the gold standard for student-athlete success in academics and competitive sports.</p><separator></separator><p>The conference announced last week that Larry Scott, Chairman and CEO of the Women's Tennis Association (WTA), will be its new commissioner, effective July 1. Scott becomes the sixth commissioner of the Pac-10, succeeding Tom Hansen who is set to retire after 26 years in the role.</p><separator></separator><p>Crow became the 16th president of Arizona State University on July 1, 2002. He is guiding the transformation of ASU into one of the nation's leading public metropolitan research universities, one that is directly engaged in the economic, social, and cultural vitality of its region. Under his direction the university pursues teaching, research, and creative excellence focused on the major challenges and questions of our time, as well as those central to the building of a sustainable environment and economy for Arizona. He has committed the university to global engagement, and to setting a new standard for public service.</p><separator></separator><p>A fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration, he is the author of books and articles relating to the analysis of research organizations, technology transfer, science and technology policy, and the practice and theory of public policy.</p>