Skip to main content

ASU baseball captures Pac-10 crown

May 23, 2008

The No. 2 ranked ASU Sun Devil baseball team clinched its second consecutive Pac-10 championship with a 13-6 win over Arizona May 22 in Tucson.

The win marks the second straight year the Sun Devils have clinched the conference title against the rival Wildcats, and it improves their record to 45-9, 16-6 in the Pac-10.

In winning the conference crown, the baseball team joins a long list of current Sun Devil champs. ASU is the current Pac – 10 champion in football (co-champion), baseball, softball, women's track and field and men's golf.

ASU Baseball has won 40 or more games five times in the past six years. It is the 29th time in school history that the baseball team has hit the 40 win mark and the 46th straight season they have won at least 30 games. It is also the 48th season out of 50 that ASU has won at least 30 games. ASU won 43 regular season games in 2007.

Arizona State has been selected as a host for the 2008 NCAA Baseball Regionals and will host Vanderbilt, Oklahoma and Stony Brook. This is the second straight year ASU will host regionals and the third time in the past four years.

ASU, who garnered the #3 National Seed, will face the fourth seeded Stony Brook, while second seeded Vanderbilt will take on Oklahoma.

Friday, May 30- #3 Oklahoma (34-24-1) vs. #2 Vanderbilt (40-20) (Game One)
7 p.m.- #4 Stony Brook (34-24) vs. #1 Arizona State (45-11) (Game Two)

Saturday, May 31-
2 p.m.- Loser of Game One vs. Loser of Game Two (Loser Eliminated) (Game Three)
7 p.m.- Winner of Game One vs. Winner of Game Two (Game Four)

Sunday, June 1-
1 p.m.- Winner of Game Three vs. Loser of Game Four (Game Five)
6 p.m.- Winner of Game Five vs. Winner of Game Four (Game Six)

Monday, June 2 (if necessary)-
6 p.m.- Repeat of Game Six