Skip to main content

ASU academic team heads to national tourney

March 30, 2009

A team of student scholars from Arizona State University will compete in the national Intercollegiate Championship Tournament held April 3-4 at the Dallas-Fort Worth Airport.

Representing ASU will be the four original members of the ASU Academic Bowl winning team from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. They are: captain Erin Hutchinson, a senior majoring in global studies; Kenneth Lan, a sophomore majoring in biological sciences; Mary Beth Hutchinson, a sophomore majoring in religious studies and history; and Carolyn Moss, a junior majoring in history.

Alternates include Louis Weimer, a freshman majoring in history in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Alex Porter, a senior majoring in supply chain management in the W.P. Carey School of Business. The team is coached by Brian Gleim, a graduate student in astrophysics in the School of Earth and Space Exploration.

The team secured a wild card spot in the national tournament after a close rematch in the final round of regional play on Feb. 7 against University of California, Los Angeles. The ASU team came in second but played well enough to earn a wild card invitation.

Undergraduate Student Government is sponsoring the ASU team in the national matchup, which is organized by the National Academic Quiz Tournaments.

Other teams scheduled to compete in the national tournament are: University of Alabama; Broward College; Carleton College; Carnegie Mellon University; Case Western Reserve University; University of Chicago; Chipola College; Davidson College; Gonzaga University; Grinnell College; J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College; University of Maryland; McMaster University; Miami University, Ohio; University of Michigan; Mississippi State University; Northeast Alabama Community College; Ohio State University; Princeton University; Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; University of California, Los Angeles; Vanderbilt University; Washington University in St. Louis; and Yale University.