Skip to main content

Arizona State women's swimming and diving team to host Washington State on Saturday

November 14, 2007

The Arizona State University women's swimming and diving team will host Washington State on Saturday Nov. 17 at noon. The men return to action on Nov. 29 when they along with the women travel to the Texas Invitational in Austin, Texas. That weekend the divers will travel to the Ohio State Invitational in Columbus, Ohio.

Quick Recap
Last weekend was an exciting weekend for the Sun Devils. Highlighted by triple wins from CJ Nuess and wins in both dives from Micky Benedetti, the men handily defeated the Utah Utes by a score of 184-110. The women hung with UCLA the entire meet, but were narrowly defeated 160-140. Saturday's meet against USC was extremely close as both the men and the women's team victories were decided by the very last event. In the end, the women upset the Women of Troy 158-141 while the men were one point shy of the team victory finishing with 149 points to USC's 150.

Scouting the Cougars
Washington State is 3-2 on the season. In their last time in the pool they finished third in the Debbie Pipher Memorial Invitational. The Cougars have beaten Idaho and San Jose State in duals so far this season.

Awesome Ashton
Not only did Ashton Aubry earn an NCAA qualifying time in the 200 fly against UCSB, but the sophomore from Kansas also put her name in the ASU record-books. Aubry's time of 2:00.72 was the sixth fastest 200 fly time ever swam by a Sun Devil. Against UCLA, Aubry was at it again, finishing both the 100 and 200 fly below the "B" qualifying time. Aubry's 100 fly time of 55.13 was also the sixth fastest all-time for ASU.

Making Her Mark in the Record Book
Aubry was not the only Sun Devil to put her name in ASU's record books this past weekend. Sophomore Ashley Evans clocked in a 2:01.60 to become the fifth fastest Sun Devil 200 IM swimmer. Her time was also a "B" standard time.

Diving into Success
All-American Micky Benedetti comes back for his junior season after a very successful sophomore season. After finishing national runner-up on the platform, he aims to make a championship run this season. He also earned All-American status on the 1-meter and 3-meter. The Rome, Italy native is already off to a good start as he earned NCAA qualifying dives in both the one and three meter both meets this past weekend. He earned scores of 334.20 on the one-meter and 362.55 on the three-meter on Friday. He easily surpassed Friday's marks on Saturday earning scores of 390.00 and 434.33 in the one and three meter respectively.

B Times
In last week's meets, ASU had fourteen total NCAA qualifying times and scores. Caitlin Andrew earned NCAA qualifying times both days in the 100 back and 100 free. Ashton Aubry earned two NCAA qualifying times in the 100 and 200 fly. Perazzo swam under the "B" qualifying time for the 50 free in both meets as well. Ashley Evans earned two NCAA "B" qualifying times this weekend as well, in the 200 and 400 IM. The 200 free relay team of Andrew, Jen Beckberger, Lindsey Brown and Perazzo also swam fast enough both days for an NCAA "B" qualifying time. Micky Benedetti and Cameron Bradshaw also earned NCAA diving marks for the Sun Devils. Benedetti earned his in both the one and three meter both days while Bradshaw recorded his on the three meter on Saturday.

The Sun Devils also earned nine NCAA "B" qualifying times against UCSB. Caitlin Andrew and Jen Beckberger led the way for the Sun Devils by earning two NCAA "B" times each as well as contributing to two of the relays that swam "B" qualifying times as well. Andrew swam 55.19 in the 100 back and 54.35 in the 100 fly to earn her two times. Beckberger swam the 200 free in 1:50.06 and the 50 free in 23.23 for her two qualification times. CJ Nuess (1650 free, 15.27.77), Ashton Aubry (200 fly, 2:00.72) and Ashley Evans (200 IM, 2:03.94) swam "B" qualifying times as did the women's 200 (3:23.69) and 400 (1:33.18) free relay teams of Andrew, Beckberger, Lindsey Brown and Jess Perazzo.

Andrew the Great
Senior captain Caitlin Andrew returns to the Sun Devils to cap her stellar career at Arizona State. The San Antonio, Texas native earned five All American accolades last season, highlighted by a third place finish in the 100 butterfly at the NCAA Championships. Andrew has already earned NCAA qualifying times in the 100 back and 100 free multiple times this year, as well as contributing to relay teams that also earned NCAA qualifying times.

Nuess News
CJ Nuess continues his excellent ASU career into his senior season, after earning All-America accolades his junior year in the 400 IM and 1650 freestyle. This past week he finished first in the 1000 free and 200 breast both days. Nuess also placed first in the 400 IM on Friday.

Oh Captain, My Captain(s)
The captains for the 2007-08 season have been announced. On the women's side, All-American Caitlin Andrew and Lindsey Brown are to take reign of the leadership of the team. The men's team has named captains for the first time since the 2004 season. John Dwelley and Steve Neuwert are to share captain duties for the 2007-08 season.

Welcome to the Team
The Sun Devils welcome 14 new faces to the swimming and diving squads. Nine men and five women have been added to their respective rosters. Of these, seven of the men and all of the women are freshmen. In addition to the new freshmen, Luke Herlehy and Vinicius Waked join the team as transfers.

Strong Seniors
The Sun Devils have strong senior leadership on both squads this season. The women are led by All-Americans Caitlin AndrewLindsey Brown. In addition to the two co-captains, Lindsey Russenberg, Ellis Schieman and Emlynn Tursick enter their senior season. On the men's side, 2008 marks the final year for co-captains John Dwelley and Steve Neuwert, as well as All-Americans Lucas Azevedo and CJ Nuess. Luke Herlehy, a transfer from Ohio University, is also a senior.

The Arizona State swimming and diving teams have not only had succes in the pool, but in the classroom as well. Since Coach Mike Chasson has taken over the program, the men and women's teams have collected 144 Pac-10 All Academic honors. This past spring, Caitlin Andrew, Cassidy Farwell, Frankie Judy and Jill Kripps were named to First Team Pac-10 All-Academic while Lindsey Brown and Amy Konowalik were named to the Second Team. Abra Amour, Rikka Brunner, Christine Creek, Sarah Fischer, Amanda Gillespie, Erin Hobbs, Ilene Lesch, Ellis Schieman and Emlynn Tursick were all named as honorable mention. Billy Sweeney was named to the men's First Team and Lucas Azevedo made the Second Team.