Skip to main content

16 graduate students earn dissertation fellowships

November 12, 2009

The Graduate College has awarded 16 dissertation fellowships to outstanding graduate students who are in the final stages of post-candidacy doctoral work. Fellowships are awarded across five areas: arts, humanities and social sciences; natural sciences and mathematics; engineering; professional programs and education; and interdisciplinary research. 

The fellows' varied research includes justice issues in deaf education, improvements in fuel cell efficiency, vaccine development, connections between literature and cinema in Latin America, and the relationship between climate and human behavior in prehistoric Arizona. 

"We had some of the best students from across the university nominated for this year's dissertation fellowships," says Andrew Webber, associate vice provost. "These students have made strong contributions to advancing their fields of study. They should feel very proud of their accomplishments so far, and for their potential as future leaders in their chosen professions." 

The sixteen dissertation fellowships were awarded to:

• Neslihan Cevik, School of Social and Family Dynamics 

• Laura Dougherty, School of Theatre and Film

• Daniel Farrell, Department of Physics

• John Finn, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning

• Dorothy Griffin, Environmental Design & Planning

• Thomas Horejes, School of Social Transformation

• Scott Ingram, School of Human Evolution & Social Change

• Assen Kokalov, School of International Letters and Cultures

• Rucheeta Vedant Kulkarni, Division of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies

• Nicholas LaRowe, School of Politics and Global Studies

• Alberto Perez Pereiro, School of Human Evolution & Social Change

• Amy Rector, School of Human Evolution & Social Change

• Jeffery Thomson, Materials Science Engineering

• Emel Topal, School of Life Sciences/Biodesign Institute 

• Andre Valdez, Department of Psychology

• Johanna Wagner, Department of English