Skip to main content

13 Sun Devils earn All-Pac-10 honors from; Weber named First Team All-American

December 11, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - 13 Arizona State University football student-athletes earned All-Pac-10 honors from, the website announced today. In addition to the All-Pac-10 honors, 2007 Groza Award Winner Thomas Weber earned First Team All-American honors.

Weber, a redshirt freshman from Downey, Calif., was named First Team All-Pac-10 after going 22-23 on field goals, including a 53-yarder at UCLA and the game-winner at Washington State. He began his career by making 17 straight field goals, the longest streak in the NCAA this season. The 17 in a row set a school record for consecutive made field goals and consecutive made field goals to start a career. He is the Pac-10's leading scorer at 9.0 points per game and was named the Lou Groza Award winner last Thursday in Orlando, Fla.

Quarterback Rudy Carpenter, offensive linemen Paul Fanaika and Brandon Rodd, defensive end Dexter Davis, linebacker Robert James and punt returned Kyle Williams all earned Second Team honors. Running back Keegan Herring, center Mike Pollak, cornerback Justin Tryon and safety Troy Nolan were named Third Team All-Pac-10. Wide receiver Chris McGaha and kick returner Rudy Burgess were Honorable Mentions.

The Co-Pac-10 Champion Sun Devils will face the Texas Longhorns in the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl on Dec. 27 in San Diego. The game will be televised by ESPN.